Help.. MAC PRO Issue, not booting -

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AMIEL7, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. AMIEL7, Mar 2, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012

    AMIEL7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #1
    Hi,
    I have 2 Monitors in my Mac Pro (2006)...so I was arranging my studio and just for the meantime connected only 1 monitor and the Desktop looked weird, like the monitor size setting was not right...I could not find a Setting that was right, but I thought was because I was using in the meantime only 1 monitor...I did not care.... but all the folders were all on the side of the screen all crunched together.

    Anyway next day I could nor boot the computer...and after the grey Mac logo I get a dark screen with the pointer in the upper right corner....weird thing is that I can move the mouse but still there a pointer arrow frozen in the corner.

    I was not able to boot with the CD or install again the Mac OS.

    -I was thinking can be a bad capacitor.
    -The Graphic card is damaged...(but why I can see the Grey Mac Logo fine?)
    -Or maybe the logic board is bad (again..maybe a bad capacitor?).

    I did a Hardware test and in the fast test do not show any problem.
    in the long test say:
    4SNS/1/40000001:VMBS error.

    Any advise?

    Thanks!
     
  2. AMIEL7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
  3. AMIEL7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #4
    Thanks.

    Yes I found that too.

    But I am also reading that Apple service always just wipe many problems replacing the logic board when could be able to be fixed by replacing a cap or doing other methods.
     
  4. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #5
    I guess you won't know until you take it into them. With the cost of a new logic board likely costing upwards of $600 or so, you might want to just have them confirm it is indeed the logic board and then look for another used Mac Pro which would likely cost you around the same as the logic board, but you'd get a whole computer.
     
  5. AMIEL7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #6
    yes, that is what I was thinking..confirm if is the Logic Borad..and if is..buy a used mac pro and sell mine..

    how much can I get for a great mac pro with a faulty Motherboard?
     
  6. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #7
    Well you'd be looking at selling it for parts so maybe a few hundred tops. I don't think there is a huge market for parts other then the higher end quad core CPU's. You would probably be better off keeping it for parts yourself, that is if you are going to get another Mac Pro 1,1 and not upgrade to a 3,1.
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Apple techs are lazy, it's known issue...
    Reset SMC and re-run AHT. This error means that one of sensors on logic board didn't pass the test. VMBS is one of voltage sensors, I think.

    Try booting in safe mode.
    Try other graphics card or booting without it and access your Mac remotely (SSH, VNC etc).
    Get Apple Service Manual for your MP and check Diagnostic LEDs if above won't help.
    Post results.
     
  8. AMIEL7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #9
    Thanks for the info!!
     
  9. drrbc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
  10. AMIEL7 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #11
    Also for few month when I used to open a new page in Safari I could see a black screen with few lines for a second or too before looks right and sometimes when I opened Mail used to freeze the computer for few seconds too.
     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland

Share This Page