HELP! Mac will not start unless I hold the on button for 10 seconds!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by majordude, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #1
    I have a MBP and it started going nuts the other day.

    If it is running and I reboot it (from insides OSX) it will reboot.

    If I power off and try to turn it on by pressing the button it comes on for a second (at best) and goes right back off. The only way it will boot is if I press AND HOLD the on button until it beeeeeeps and then it will boot up (rather slowly). :( Once it is on it appears to work fine.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. ctshu2002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #2
    I have a similar problem, and the Apple disucssions boards are loaded with some of the same problems. If you MBP won't turn on when you first press the on button, try plugging it in sometimes fixes the problem.

    The need to press and held the button, even when plugged in, I have found was due to the power button itself. My power button is actually slightly indented to the left and raised to the right, and now no longer slightly inset to the right speaker. My #6 key is also tilted and either sticks or doesn't work.

    Combined with the sudden shutdown issues, I think it's time for the Genius bar for repairs, but my nearest one is 45 minutes plus with the highway construction and road shifting.

    MBP 2.1 C2D 2.3GHz OS X 10.5.4
     
  3. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
  4. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #4
    It IS plugged in! :mad:

    How do I do that? :confused:
     
  5. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #5
    To reset the PRAM

    To reset the SMC ( INTEL ONLY)

     
  6. jaikob macrumors 6502

    jaikob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Freeland, MI
    #6
    In his case, he would need to remove the power cable and battery for 15 seconds.
     
  7. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #7
    Hey! I think it worked! Started up without problems once I removed the battery and power for a minute or so. Strange.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    I think you just had a slight little mishap with the SMC chip on the logic board. Try the SMC and PRAM resets as those are standard and more permanent than removing batteries.
     
  9. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #9
    I thought that what I did WAS an SMC reset! :confused:
     
  10. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  11. wchua24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #11
    thanks for sharing . it had work for me..thanks again..:)
     
  12. majordude thread starter macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #12
    Looks like it did... but I remain wary unless it works for a week or so.
     

Share This Page