HELP Macbook Pro Buyer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amalkan, Jun 16, 2015.

1. amalkan macrumors newbie

I'm a college student who needs to run...

8 tabs of Chrome
    Word and Excel (sometimes but mostly just word or excel)

No real graphics or anything, currently have a 2009 Macbook Pro 15 inch and it's slow as heck!

Thinking about

Mbp 2015
    16 gb RAM
    Dual core i7

Is that good or too much power for me?

2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

If you want the 13'' rMBP just get the base model.

3. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

z31fanatic

That's overkill for your use. As a college student, the base 15/8/128 should be plenty.

4. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

I believe he is talking about a 13'' because he mentions a dual-core CPU.

5. amalkan thread starter macrumors newbie

Yeah, I am. I am not really considering a 15" due to the lack of portability in comparison to the 13". Do you really think the base model is enough? I feel like my current computer can hardly handle what I do. Also If i want to hook up my rmbp to an external monitor do i need to upgrade any of the internal components to help it support that?

6. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

z31fanatic

I know he was talking about the 13". That 15 was supposed to be i5. It was a typo.

7. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

z31fanatic

8. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

I think the base model is more than enough. I think you can get away with any notebook, which is why I began my reply with "if you want the 13'' rMBP" as opposed to talking about necessities.

Your current computer can handle what you do (what you've listed anyway), but it's just aged. That's all.

9. lowendlinux Contributor

lowendlinux

I'd get a new SSD and some RAM for the old computer and keep the $1000 in my pocket.

10. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I'd try upgrading the 2009 with a SSD and maybe the ram (you don't specify how much ram it has).