Help! Macbook won't take 4GB upgrade!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dodge2112, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. dodge2112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    I have a 2.2 GHz Macbook (I believe that makes it a "Santa Rosa") and tried to upgrade the memory to 4GB, however the macbook will not boot at all with 4GB in it. If I take out either one of the 2GB (I tried both configurations) modules and run the original 1GB with it, I'm fine and everthing shows that I'm running 4GB. But if I put them both in there, I get nothing. I bought the memory from Crucial (Micron). I'd greatly appreciate any help... Thanks!
     
  2. CJRhoades macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #2
    My guess would be that either your not getting it in all the way or that one of the RAM cards is damaged. Did you try running it with only one in and then try running it with only the other one?
     
  3. dodge2112 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I tried all the various configurations and also made sure that everything was seated correctly. From what I'm reading on some of the other threads, several people have run into this with the black Macbooks and Crucial's 4GB memory upgrade. Thank you for your kind assistance though.
     
  4. KruseF1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4
  5. dodge2112 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008

Share This Page