Help make my site work with IE

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kitki83, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. kitki83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Ok now that my website is working was having webhost problems. Now I can get the help I wanted from the forums. I basically updated my website, what my goal is create a solid layout and easily change the design of it. I think best example is CSS Zen. Right now I have the rough layout but cannot get the current design to work with IE. I explored PNG>JPG and tweak some code around. Nothing really change after each step.

    The weird thing my previous design was IE friendly, I did minor changes in code.

    Current website
    IE working
     
  2. notnek macrumors 6502

    notnek

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #2
    where are the ie css files you're calling? iestyles.css, ie5styles.css and ie6styles.css
     
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Yeah it looks like you fotgot to upload the iestyle.css file or placed it in the wrong spot. I also noticed you have some CSS errors. Check it against the validator, http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/
     
  4. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Ok I originally took them off but are not put back with some coding corrections.
    Is the newest version of IE 6 or 7?

    I am right now going through the CSS corrections which will take me time.
    I finally got it to start loading IE format I wanted but I still have white blank areas which I cannot understand why I am getting them.

    Also is there a way to declare If IE go to this directory and load this site at X directory?

    Thanks for the help guys I think from now on its trial and error.
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    To have IE-only redirect to a different page you can try
    HTML:
    <!--[if IE]>
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0;url=http://othersite" />
    <![endif]-->
    I've never tried this exact solution, but would be worth a try. Place it inside the head tag.
     
  6. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    This works perfectly and best solution for the time being while I try to correct the coding to be IE friendly.

    /rant
    Hate IE
     

Share This Page