Help making a cloth model in Sketchup please?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by LERsince1991, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. LERsince1991 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi I've made a frame in google sketchup and im trying to cover that frame in a thin cloth like material. How could I do this fairly quickly? I've not had any luck in making it.

    Thanks for the help!
    Luke
     
  2. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #2
  3. LERsince1991 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Hey, thanks Nath,

    I saw that too but I think you have to buy a plug in.

    I did a bodge job anyway and retouched it to get the seams better.
    I use the freehand drawing tool and the follow me tool.
    It will do for now anyway :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Hey, that look good as is, I like it.

    Nice work with Hyper ;)
     
  5. LERsince1991 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Cheers :)
    It was just a test render really but I've got some good ones now.

    Cant remember how to make a normal map from a jpeg though with filter forge :/
     
  6. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Hyper can only read sketchup can't it ? I really want one of the backdrops for my ArchiCAD file, maybe do it in Photoshop ?

    Sorry, I don't know what filter forge is :s ( would I use that to insert my CAD and screenshot - Layers
     
  7. LERsince1991 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Nope, hypershot can read just about anything, pay a visit to bunkspeed - hypershot website.

    Filter forge is to create something called a normal map which uses a single jpeg and converts it to another jpeg which has data in it to make the original texture bumpy. so shadows would be simulated more realistically with more depth and accuracy. if not then its easy to tell something is a flat texture.
     
  8. LERsince1991 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    heres an example Ive done which shows bumping textures fairly well.. (not that good to others though)

    First one is the final render, second is it in progress, without the bumps and proper textures

    Luke
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page