Help...making a MBP purchase and need advice on many things!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Audrey313, May 31, 2010.

1. Audrey313 macrumors member

Hi there,

First let me sat that I'm no techie so probably some of these questions will be stupid. But I really don't know and am not literate in all the technical aspects of computers! So please bear with me!

I am a student and going to get a 13" MBP soon (been waiting for the back to school special...and now going to wait until after WWDC just in the very small case that would change anything since it is a week away). After researching on here, I decided that the 2.44 processor should fit my needs (I will be using this laptop for just typical student reasons...Internet, email, iTunes, writing papers, etc.). Where I am unsure is the RAM and the hard drive? I know there is one of those that you can update later, for less money...which if I understand it, is the thing to do. So what advice can y'all give me as far as selecting RAM and hard drive? I am clueless!

My next question would be about a case. I definitely want to put one on to protect it. I have seen lots of brands and different places to purchase them. I see that there are hard cases and then the soft silicone ones. So which is better? I have seen the brands Specks, mCover, IVEA, etc. Any recommendation on what to get in this department (or even what NOT to get) would help. It is kinda one of those things when other people's experience and reviews really can be useful!