Help me answer a Leopard Question......

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mr.Noisy, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #1
    My sister wants to upgrade her iMac from 10.4 to 10.5, She bought leopard a couple of days ago but she asked me "what files are changed/replaced if I archive and install?", she has cs3 and a few other programs she doesn't want to have to re-install. So what happens if she does the archive and install

    I cant help as the MP came with Leopard pre-installed,

    can anyone give me a quick answer, we want to get this installed today,

    tar :)
     
  2. zaney macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of a field, UK
    #2
    If you archive and install it will backup your old system to a different folder, then do a fresh install. You'll have to reinstall photoshop as it doesn't like this.
    I've tried restoring photoshop from a timemachine backup myself before, and it doesn't like that either.
     
  3. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    archive and reinstall will take your users folders/applciations etc and create an image, then change only the library/OS folders... then the image of the users folder is replaced. nothing is changed apart from OS stuff
     
  5. Mr.Noisy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #5
    Thanks DoFoT9 bit the bullet, it's done, as you say, nothing has changed, everything works ok, just had to set up her mail again, but that was a 2 second job, now she is running a completely new OS, ;) and she's happy.

    Photoshop's ok zaney no problems, she is running the complete cs3 design suite premium and there are no problems, runs as sweet as a nut.

    Thanks guys.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    eheh no worries mate. another successful job from DoFoT9 :) :cool:
     
  7. zaney macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of a field, UK
    #7
    Lucky you, I had to reinstall mine. Must have just been a one-off problem then. Glad it worked for you anyway.
     

Share This Page