Help Me Boost Performance for my MacBook!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blainehogan, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. blainehogan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #1
    I have a 13" MacBook Core 2 Duo. 2ghz, running 1 gb (2 x 512mb) of RAM.

    I am going to upgrade to 2gb (2 x 1gb) of RAM to boost performance, but I'm wondering if there are some other tricks to boost performance?

    I usually am running photoshop, mail, browser, word, and maybe a couple other things at a time.

    Any ideas!?!?!
     
  2. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
  3. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #3
    I don't think you need anything else other than more RAM. Drop 2GB in your MacBook and it'll fly.
     
  4. NickD macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    RAM is really all you need really. It will be enough to run PS, and will greatly aid in multi-tasking.
     
  5. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #5
    RAM boost

    Will I really have that much boost from 1gb to 2gb?
     
  6. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Charles, MO
    #6
    Where you having problems with just 1 gb, what slowdowns where there?

    If you haven't ordered your ram yet, checkout dealram.com, I ordered 2 gb from crucial for $90. I haven't gotten it or my macbook yet, so I don't know how much of a difference it will make yet.
     
  7. tejota1911 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #7
    I would upgrade the RAM to 2gigs. Then order the new Seagate Momentus 7200.2 160gig hard drive. Those two things will give you a noticable boost.
     
  8. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #8

    Mostly when I start photoshop up and have it running with other apps.
     
  9. SteveG4Cube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    MontCo., PA
    #9
    Are you running Photoshop in Rosetta or do you have the new (universal) version?
     
  10. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #11
    2 GB is a very decent amount.

    A faster HD will help particually when swapping data from real to virtual memory and vica versa. It will also help application launch times.

    Also, if you don't need them, close all of your dashboard widgets and you will save memory which can be allocated to other processes to speed them up.

    A good way to learn about this is to spend sometime looking at activity monitor to see which processes take up RAM and CPU time.
     
  11. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #12
    not really sure...how do I find out?
     
  12. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #13
    Do a get info on the app and see if it says PowerPC or Intel (universal).
     
  13. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #14
    says PowerPC
     
  14. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Charles, MO
    #15
    Well, there's your reason for it running poorly. The intel processor in the macbook has to essential pretend to be/emulate a PPC for it to work. This is done through something called Rosetta.

    To learn more about this, check here
     
  15. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #16
    so do I need a new version of CS2?
     
  16. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Charles, MO
    #17
    Actually, you need CS3.
    There is no intel or universal version of CS2 available, only PPC.
     
  17. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #18
    gotcha. I'm still not exactly sure what to get though. I see CS 3 upgrade here:

    http://www.academicsuperstore.com/market/marketdisp.html?PartNo=804783

    for like $199

    and then the whole suite here:

    http://www.academicsuperstore.com/market/marketdisp.html?PartNo=798223

    any thoughts?

    Also if I can't afford the CS 3 upgrade, would the 2gb RAM upgrade be helpful for this?

    thanks so much for all your help!
     
  18. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Charles, MO
    #19
    I could help you in a week once I get my macbook and ram, as I have CS2 and CS3. I could test it then, but until then, I can't help you anymore, sorry.
     
  19. blainehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #20
    Thanks man!

    Know of any good deals for CS 3 online anywhere?
     
  20. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #21
    Well, we generally dont speak of "the cheapest" ways to get software around here, if you know what I mean...;)
     
  21. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #22
    It seems fairly clear that the poster wants to buy it...:rolleyes:
     
  22. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #23
    CS3 is a really big step up from CS2 performance wise on an intel mac.
     
  23. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #24
    Yes, it was my first Adobe purchase since Photoshop 7 and well worth it. It flies vs. the CS2 trial software that I had downloaded Pre-CS3. I'm an Adobe Beta tester who received both Fireworks CS3 and Photoshop CS3 and the Intel-Nativity made them faster then any RAM upgrade could.
     
  24. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #25
    It's not much, but I did get a slight gain from it
    http://www.xslimmer.com/
    for example, firefox went from 6 to 4 seconds to load.
     

Share This Page