Help me choose a MBP! Please?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hushmartin, Mar 5, 2011.

1. hushmartin macrumors 6502

Sorry for mucking up the forum with yet another decision making thread, but I've been plagued with indecision over the last couple weeks and am no closer to a decision. This is going to be my first Mac! I'm a student so I get the edu discount and my max budget it 2k, of course I'd rather not spend any more than needed. I'm frugal.

Right now I have a 13.3" Vaio in need of replacement. I don't take my current laptop out of the house much. I surf, watch videos (netflix, youtube, dvds), do word processing & power point. Also, do I need MS Office or will iWork suffice? I have the occasional professor that wants computer file copies of papers in office format, plus all the notes/syllabus/slides we get from teachers are in office format; I'm a little concerned about this. I do a little photo editing, I plan on trying my hand at some casual video editing (for fun). I am an old-school adventure game fanatic and will play mostly point and click type adventure games. I want enough future proofing that I don't have to buy another laptop for at least 2 years.

While I'm used to my 13", occasionally I find myself wishing for more space, usually when I'm moving files around on my pc or trying to multitask. I can upgrade HDD and ram on my own and at a later date if need be, but I have noticed that the 128 SSD is most economical if ordered from Apple. For some reason I have this crazy idea that I should get the 15" for the graphics card.

Anyway, I'm all over the place. 13 or 15? Do I need the graphics card? How much difference does a ssd make over the standard hdd? What about the 7200 hdd? I think I suffer from "Tim Taylor syndrome"... "More power!" *grunt grunt* And yeah, I'm a chick. Weird, I know. I just don't want to cheap out and then regret it hard core in a year.

2. HBOC macrumors 68020