Help me choose the right iMac!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skysounds, Apr 11, 2012.

1. skysounds macrumors newbie

So I'm considering waiting until the new iMac is released...but if my impatience takes control, I'll probably just buy the 2011 one.

I am a music producer who uses multiple programs to create electronic music. I will simultaneously be using Ableton Live, Reason 6, ProTools, and many separate virtual synth plug-ins.

I was thinking about getting the works...i7 3.4 GHz, 16GB of RAM, 1TB hard drive and probably a 256 GB SSD.

My question is, does the i7 make a huge difference if I'm using multiple programs for music? I know it will use a ton of ram, and I might even need more than 16 GB. I've been using my 15'' Fall 2009 MacBook Pro for all of this, but now that I'm using more programs simultaneously it is really beginning to slow down. I'm worried that my computer will crash and I will lose all of my work. It's a 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 4GB of ram.

So will the specs that I listed for the new iMac suit my needs? Should I get more RAM? Is this overkill? Should I bother waiting for the new iMac?

I use my computer daily for hours to produce music...the only reason I would wait for the new mac is if it was vastly superior to the one already out and if it has features like USB 3.0 and touch screen...something really new and incredible...

Let me know what you guys think! Sorry for the very long post.

2. plucky duck macrumors 6502

Get your own ram and install your own ssd HD if you don't mind ripping open the iMac, that'll save you a good few hundred dollars. Ram and HD will show you the most significance in performance, I doubt the jump to the 2012 model will give you much in terms of performance bump. I personally would not wait and look for one under used market on apples website.

3. skysounds thread starter macrumors newbie