Help Me Computer Is Broke?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by HarryAndAGuitar, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. HarryAndAGuitar macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    Ok, so yesterday, my mac crashed, and I used to have snow leopard on there, I tried re installing everything with the original discs that came with my mac, leopard, and it wouldn't install on the internal hardrive, so i installed it on an external 1.5tb hardrive.

    This worked fine, but i want it to install on internal so i can unplug my hardrive.

    Any help?

    Thanks

    Harry
     
  2. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    So it assume it stopped booting after it crashed?

    What exactly happened?

    Did you upgrade to Snow Leopard? If so just use the upgrade disc.
     
  3. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    When i tried booting, it does the apple sign with spinning thingy (lol) and then black screen then tries too boot again and it in a loop...

    But when i try and upgrade whilst in leopard it says this.....

    [​IMG]
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    While booted from the external HDD or restore/installation DVD (10.5/10.6), run Disk Utility and check your internal HDD and see if you can verify and repair it or if the S.M.A.R.T. status indicates a failure.
     
  5. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #5
    Leave the disc in the drive, restart the Mac and hold the C key.

    Let go of the key when the white screen with the Apple logo appears.

    Did it boot from the installation disc?

    If so, after a couple of mins, you should have a menu asking for a Language.
     
  6. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #6
    It says the Disk appears to be ok, and when i click repair, it says it cannot by unmounted or something.........
     
  7. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #7
    That didnt work, it was on the white screen with apple logo and spinning lines, then the cd ejected itself and booted up into leopard?
     
  8. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #8
    Put the disc back in, shut the Mac down.

    Turn it on and hold the alt key.

    Let go when you get the initial boot menu, choose the one with the picture of a CD, press enter.

    Any further now?
     
  9. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #9
    I've tried that earlier, i click the cd, then it starts to boot then boots straight to leopard?
     
  10. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #10
    Somethings not quite right here.

    Are you using a genuine Retail DVD? Is the disc clean? What version is printed on the DVD?

    When did you buy the Mac, better still, whats the serial number?
     
  11. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #11
    The disc says version 10.6 and i got my macbook unibody last august.

    I'm gutted and angry :mad: lol

    This is actually really strange.

    Thanks
     
  12. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #12
    Are you using a genuine off the shelf Retail DVD? Or the grey one that came in the box?

    Is the disc clean?
     
  13. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  14. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #14
    No i bought it from the apple store, the grey one i have is for leopard :)
     
  15. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  16. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
  17. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #17
    Great.

    Sounds like it might be hardware issue. Can you swap the RAM or take one out and leave another in?

    Can you run the Apple Hardware Test and report back?

    You started by saying the Mac crashed, what actually happened?
     
  18. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #18
    I cant do any of the above, but i was just on the internet, then the dread spinning beach ball came into sight, so i left it for a while, went out played footy came back in and it had froze the ball wasnt moving, so i held down power button, tried to reboot and it did the black screenthing
     
  19. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #19
    Why can't you do the Apple Hardware Test? What happens when you try?

    Forget booting from disc for now and do the following:

    Try holding cmd and the v key as soon as you power on the Mac.

    After a while, you should see a black screen with white writing, then you can let go of the keys.

    Look at what it says, does it stop in a certain place? Can you see any errors?
     
  20. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #20
    Oh sorry ill try it in a second... i need to finish something.
     
  21. HarryAndAGuitar thread starter macrumors member

    HarryAndAGuitar

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #21
    It says something along the lines of Disk0s2= I/O error
     
  22. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #22
    Drive may be dying.

    If you have Techtool PRO look at smart utility or download SMART Utility.app and check the drive out.

    You are looking for "bad sectors" and "total errors"

    Simply reading the smart info off disk utility won't cut it, even if it says OK you might get fail on errors and sectors when pulling info off the drive.

    ---

    I'm going to say you probably have about 30-40 pending bad sectors and a hundred+ drive errors. Unfortunately the only way around this is to erase and ZERO OUT the drive. the zeroing reallocates the bad sectors.

    Usually if you can boot into single user mode (can you?) you may be able to fix the drive enough to save all the data, if you want I can try to help you rebuild the drive for free using fsck so you don't lose any data.
     

Share This Page