Help me decide: Mini vs New iMac vs Very Old iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sandysh, May 29, 2011.

1. sandysh macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am trying to decide what kind of computer to purchase. I'm pretty savvy when it comes to using computers, but not so much when it comes to specs or any of that stuff. I apologize in advance for the length of this post... I am kind of going through the pros and cons with myself as I type this, and it's partially a financial question instead of just "which Mac is best?". Here's my situation:

I am a stereotypical broke student. I make enough to cover my living expenses but am paying for educational costs with loans. The career field I am entering is lucrative; I graduate in one year and will have no trouble whatsoever finding a job well-paying enough that I will be able to pay off my loans in full within the first year of working. Though I am moving to NYC after graduation, which will be expensive in itself, so let's say I will be able to pay them off in two years at an absolute maximum. I do consider a computer to be an educational cost, since it is a necessity for school & my old desktop is completely fried. However, I don't view my loans as "free money" and I don't want to owe more than necessary.

That being said, this will be my first Mac. I am tired of Windows & don't particularly like dabbling with versions of Linux - I love it, but really want something that just works without a lot of tweaking. It is nearing time for a new TV as well, since my ancient TV is starting to fuzz & the connectors are requiring more and more duct-tape rigging to keep the DVD images on screen. My goal is to have a Mac that will double as a TV substitute (maybe with EyeTV or something similar) which means that a bigger screen is better -- I have my eye on a new or refurbished 27" iMac, of course, and of course they are double what I was hoping to spend.