Help me decide: More ram or faster processor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Cscottrun, Sep 3, 2014.

1. Cscottrun macrumors 6502

Background: I am a college student. I don't play games on my laptop. My main program usages are the basics: Microsoft Office, iTunes, spotify, and some exam taking software. The rest of the time I am browsing the internet either just surfing sites, Netflix, or maybe torrenting every once in a while (nothing heavy, maybe a movie or album once a month, and it never stays running once the download is complete.)

Here's what I'm looking at right now:

Either gonna go all the way up to the 3.0ghz i7 with 8gb of ram, or the 2.8ghz i5 with 16 gb of ram. Help.

2. Meister Suspended

Meister

Why do you want a faster processor or more ram? What for?
    The apps you mentioned could pretty much be run by an iphone.

3. Cscottrun thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the help. As tim the tool man says...more power.

4. Meister Suspended

Meister

More power for what?
    Any current macbook pro is already utter overkill for your needs. Any upgrade on top of that is just obscene.
    Like buying a masserati to drive a block to the supermarket.

If you are fine with 128gb storage and absolutely need the retina get the rmbp 2.4/4/128 from 2013 on a discount. Same performance for your needs and much cheaper. Save the money and spend it on strippers and cigars.

5. austinpike macrumors 6502

A Bugatti and a Honda both get you to the grocery store just as quickly (assuming legal speed limits)... you can spend the $ on more power but it sounds like you don't really have a need for it. I'd focus on portability in your situation. (i.e., Macbook Air.) Bank the rest, sell this one and trade up if/when retina Air comes out.

6. Cscottrun thread starter macrumors 6502