Help me decide

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jacdem, Nov 20, 2011.

1. jacdem macrumors member

As a student, my buget is very tight so I am planning to buy a second hand Macbook pro. I have 2 offers but i cannot decide:

1. MacBook pro late 2008
    CPU= 2.53G
    RAM= 4G
    HDD= 320G
    Video Card= 9600GT+9400m
    Warranty= no warranty left

2. Macbook Pro mid 2010
    CPU= 2.4G
    RAM= 4G
    HDD= 250G
    Video Card= 320m
    Warranty= 2 more years

I am also planning to add more RAM and also add an SSD drive for the OS(64G)
    I got the 2 offers at the same price
    I will be using the computer for CAD with illustrator, GIS with GRASS GIS and casual photo editing.
    I will also be using it to edit music just for hobby.
    Which one will you recommend?
    Thanks

2. szolr macrumors 6502

If they're the same price get the 2010 one. Better graphics and it sounds like you'll add a SSD anyway so the HDD space difference is not so relevant. Also, the warranty's still on it and I seem to recall it's got better battery life.

3. jacdem thread starter macrumors member

Thank you for your reply. Will it be a big difference in terms of performance between the two.

4. TheJing macrumors 6502a

TheJing

5. jlc1978, Nov 20, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2011

jlc1978 macrumors 68000

jlc1978

Probably some but big is relative - for processor intensive applications you'll notice the difference.

I'd go for the newer model based on better specs and a warranty - you really can't afford to fix it if something goes wrong. For me, that'd be the real decision point.

As for the SSD, unless you use it for storage you'll probably not notice much speed difference since disk intensive read and writes would still be the bottleneck. That said, 64 GB is enough for the OS, a limited set of programs and some data - but if you have any serious amount of music you'll quickly run out of space.