Help Me Escape From My Pc / Switch Questions.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by milesdavis, Nov 17, 2007.

1. milesdavis macrumors regular

milesdavis

Hey Everyone,

I'm looking at switching to Mac after being a lifelong PC user. I'm a creative professional, one of the few -not- using a Mac. I actually don't have a problem with Windows, but I love the quality and screen of the MBP. So, I have some questions, as to which, I have not been able to find answers...

1.) NTFS - I know MAC cannot write to it, but basically all of my client files are stored on NTFS formated external drives. Can Windows via Boot Camp read/write to NTFS?

2.) Regarding NTFS and formats, I know I can't do Fat32 because of the GB limitation. So, I know Mac has a native format --- if I move my data to different drives, then format to the Mac native format (can't remember the name, I'm sure you know it) will Windows be able to read this format?

What would you all recommend regarding disc format on external drives?

3.) Right Clicking...I know it's not native on the touch pad in the way that it is in Windows, but if you are using a mouse with right click functionality, are the same 'context' menus and things there when you right click them on a Mac? For example, if I'm in Firefox, and I right click on a Jpeg -- can I save it, copy link, etc?

5.) If I run Boot Camp, will Windows be exactly like Windows when ran on a PC? Meaning all usb drives, files, folders, programs, etc will work the same as they would on a PC?

Thats the first wave, I have so many questions -- but, I'm excited about getting a Mac.

Thanks everyone!

MD

2. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

Big-TDI-Guy

First - for your bootcamp questions - http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Boot_Camp_Install-Setup.pdf