Help me experience the best of Cydia

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by millertime021, May 4, 2010.

1. millertime021 macrumors 6502a

millertime021

So I'm new to the whole jailbreaking thing.

What are some good downloads on Cydia? I've started experimenting with a few things, but I'd like to know what you guys feel are "necessary" apps/tweaks/themes/etc to download.

Thanks!!!

2. rwd hero macrumors 6502

For me MyWi is a must, it lets you use your phone as a mobile hotspot. Since you have a 3Gs you should also try proswitcher (allows you to run applications in the background, and has a very nice UI), it lags my 3G pretty bad but the 3Gs handles it nicely.

3. millertime021 thread starter macrumors 6502a

millertime021

Thanks!

Anyone else? Suggestions? Must haves?

4. foranor macrumors regular

I would suggest to look at SBSettings and maybe Categories.

For me, Jailbreaking is worth any effort for SBSettings alone.

5. ulbador macrumors 68000

ulbador

Don't forget Lockinfo and Winterboard! I definitely agree about the SBSettings comment though

6. bripab007 macrumors 6502

Backgrounder is actually what allows you to run apps in the background; ProSwitcher is an app switcher that works in conjunction with backgrounded/foregrounded apps.

Kirikae and Circuitous are too other, highly-popular app-switchers. I prefer Kirikae at the moment for its quickness and seemingly small footprint.

For me, Categories/CategoriesSB is the thing to have. You know how Saurik said that changing the background seemed to be the #1 reason to JailBreak? Well, Categories is my #1 thing. That said, it looks like that's one of the things that will be made obsolete by the folders implementation in OS 4.0.