Help me manage my devices

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by isephmusic, Dec 27, 2012.

1. isephmusic macrumors 6502

Hello this is my first year owning apple products. Never even owned an iPod. i made the big jump because i was sick and tired of DJ'ing on windows. i produce dance tracks and edit flyers in photoshop. so as a college student i now own the following devices

classic macbook pro 15inch latest model
    iphone 5
    self build windows desktop ( i7, 8gig ram, HD6960)

and sold my android tablet ( was the transformer inifnity which was trying to act as a replacement laptop)

the tablet was great until it got really buggy. now im looking for an ipad as a portable device thats a workhorse. im REALLY torn between an ipad mini with retina display next year or a thinner lighter iPad 5. i want it to be able to keep up in the notes department, graphic intensive apps and not have to lug around. im not sure if i can justify having all these devices. the desktop just sits there ever since i got my macbook. but i hate carrying my macbook to college because the 15 inch non retina is heavy ! im managing but i feel an iPad would do the job there. at home ipads have very good apps to make music or check notes. but i have a dual monitor setup . im just trying to see where i can shift my workflow and what i need to sell.

maybe if i got rid of the windows desktop, sold the macbook and upgraded to a retina i could potentially just have a light retina macbook as my " desktop" thats also portable hooked up to 2 monitors, able to be taken with me to trips. and then add the new iPad when it comes out. so instead of 4+ devices ill have just 3. what do you guys think ? thanks

2. el-John-o macrumors 65816