Help me out!

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by System928, Jul 27, 2012.

1. System928 macrumors newbie

Hi, I've been a graphic designer for about 5 or 6 years now, and somewhat recently I've delved into the realm of web development to take my design work further. I've gotten to the point of knowing enough HTML, CSS and Jquery where I can actually design a decent and fully functional website with nothing but textedit if I wanted to. My question for you now is, where do I go from here?

As of now, any website I design is simply just a bunch of html, css and js files in their respective folders, linked to eachother accordingly. The sites work if I just open them with safari, but I have no idea where to begin with actually getting them on the web and actually making them suitable for the web. If I were to design a site this way for an actual client, I would have no clue how to actually get it up on the web for them and get it to a point where people could actually use it. Especially for things like being able to track how many hits they get, online shopping and ordering systems, blog-style site updates, etc..

What advice can you give me for hosting, databases, advanced coding, etc? What should be my next step?

2. timscole macrumors newbie

Next steps

Hi, I've been developing web sites for around 14 years. IMO you need to learn about the following to move on:

1. Domain names and DNS
    2. FTP Servers
    3. Hosting Control Panels (DirectAdmin, CPanel, Plesk)
    4. PHP and MySQL
    5. Open source platforms including WordPress, Drupal (or my personal prefrence SilverStripe) and finally (after a while) Magento for ecommerce. If you learn how to build "themes" for these using HTML, etc. you will be able to build alot of powerful, feature rich sites for your clients.

Hope that gives you a starting point at least for things to google and read up on.

3. definitive macrumors 68000

definitive