Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SpecFoto

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 23, 2013
So Cal
Hi All,
Looking for a 3.3GHz 27” 5K iMac to work with my existing 2nd Cinema 27” Display screen (rules out the new 2017 iMacs). I use both Light Room and Photoshop. The iMac model I am looking at the Apple Refurbished iMac page is $1699 and has 8GB Ram, (I will put 4 Crucial 8GB sticks into whatever model I buy), either a 2TB FD or a 256GB blade and a AMD Radeon R9 M395 2GB video card. There are 3 upgrades available via different configurations that I would like opinions on, I have put them in order of what I think are the most important:

1. 512GB Blade storage. Having a 500 GB partition on my MP SSD start up drive has shown me that LR is much faster if the cache files are stored here vs. a HDD. But I have no experience with blade type storage and assume it can be partitioned just like a SSD. Anything else I need to know?

2. 4.0GHZ i7 quad core. The geekbench scores with this upgrade are actually better than my MP 2012 and about a 30% increase over the 3.3GHz i5. But is this something I will really need or miss when using LR and PS?

3. AMD M395X vs. M395 video card. The X version is 4GB vs. 2GB in the standard M395. The only game I really play is Civilization V, (maybe Civ VI sometime in the future) and frankly it is bearable even on my 2012 quad core i7Mac Mini. Will this extra 2GB of video ram help with LR and PS?

All of these options were about $250 each originally but can be had for $200 or so at the refurbished store. While I would like to add all 3, my budget will let me add 2, which ones should they be?

czacha

macrumors member
Jul 9, 2017