Help me set up home network please

Discussion in 'macOS' started by exoskemic, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. exoskemic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #1
    Hey I have three macbooks, one of them is a macbook pro

    I can connect by using a computer to computer network no problem
    but problems arise when I want to connect them through my home network

    I have set up file sharing on all of the laptops

    I have tried using Go => Connect to server ... then afp://ip address
    nothing

    When I click on network in finder, nothing turns up

    Do I need to open up ports on my router?
    what is stopping the macs seeing each other?

    need some help please
    starting to irritate me

    any help appreciated
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    are you able to connect to the internet through the router?
     
  3. exoskemic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #3
    yes
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    I have an iMac, an iBook and a 13" mbp (new). When I added the MBP today, all I had to do was go to System Preferences and enable file and printer sharing and it shows up in finder. There's an option in Finder Preferences to "show connected servers" and I set that on as well. As soon as I boot the laptops they show up on the iMac and vice versa. Perhaps you have firewall enabled on the Macs?
     
  5. exoskemic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #5
    THis is what I think the problem is but I do not know how to fix it
    I have a firewall on my router, I have tried switching it off
    I have checked the firewall on all of the macs, all of them say "allow all incoming connections"

    can some one help please?

    My router is a "Linksys WAG160N" if that helps
     
  6. exoskemic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #6
    problem solved

    I created a computer to computer network, connected on my macbook to the others, then when I returned to my home network, it recognised the other macs

    cam across it accidentally
     

Share This Page