Help me setup a "dock" for the MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by chris401, Dec 16, 2013.

1. chris401 macrumors newbie

I have a 2011 MBA. It is our only home computer. Unfortunately, I long ago maxed out the internal storage space (128 GB?) and it runs awful as a result.

Originally I intended to use this for photos and videos of the kids and to make photo albums. But with the storage space maxed out, I can't really run any programs on it, not to mention add more photos or videos.

I would like to use this as a pseudo desktop computer until a new Mac mini comes out that can be my photo/video/storage manager. What is the best solution for achieving a nice set up, and what type of budget should I expect?

I will need:
    Dock(?) with thunderbolt connection?
    External monitor
    Keyboard and mouse
    2TB or more hard drive in either eSATA or USB3.0 (thunderbolt drives seem way overpriced for my needs)

Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated, including specific models. As mentioned, the idea would be to plug all of the gear into a Mac Mini later when the new version comes out.

Thanks in advance!

2. ppenn macrumors regular

ppenn

As far as a dock I do not have a recommendation, and based on your usage mentioned, I'm not sure why you would need one.

Mouse/Keyboard. I always recommend Apples keyboard and mouse. Besides, looking good it's just an overall better experience with the OS.

I have only ever bought Western Digital and Seagate hard drives. Seagate bought WD so now they are one in the same. USB 3 will be best for you.

3. chris401 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, ppenn. My thinking on the dock is that I want to just use one cable to connect/disconnect, and I thought the thunderbolt cable would provide that capability. But maybe that's overkill. Doesn't seem like thunderbolt lived up to expectations this many years later.

4. robvas macrumors 68020

He has a 2011, no USB 3.0 for him