Help me spend $7,500!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by top, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. top macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #1
    Hello everyone

    I have a small company that deals with video production, graphic design, advertising 3D motion graphics. We shoot with canon dslr's and moving into RED we also use adobe master collection, final cut 7 - pro, and cinema 4d. In house we have 2 editors and need something for mobility.

    We currently have 27" iMac (2009) that does most of the work, but it dosn't have thunderbolt so we are selling him. We are now looking to upgrade a few things and setup a network.

    Should I wait and get a mac pro? Tell me what you would do differently.
    Total has to be under 7500

    1) 27" iMac 3.1GHz quad core with 1TB HD and upgraded graphics card to 2GB
    2) 15" Macbook Pro 2.2 quad core with upgraded HD to 750GB
    3) Thunderbolt Display (for editing when not taking out in the feild) and wireless keyboard and mouse
    4)Pegasus 6TB Thunderbolt RAID drive. (store all video/graphic files on, RAID 5 to back itself up)
    5)Time Capsule 3TB (back up both MBP and iMacs HD)
    6)RAM not purchased from apple
    7) BookArc for the MBP


    the total for that is a little under 7500.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    Take The IMac

    Up to 16GB ( I'm in a similar line of work in the music business) buy the Crucial memory, it's half the price of Apples and is the same.

    I have a top spec MBP and an Top end MBA. Backup is handled at the moment with a separate hdd for each mac, but am moving to SSD shortly when larger capacity becomes available, and reliability improves.

    I'd say you were pretty much on the button though...my iMac ( custom spec 2GB VRAM bought with 8GB but stuck another 8 in a week later) does all the donkey work and never misses a beat.

    My MBP I use in the studio, and use the super fast SSD in my MBA for quick backup and file transfers.
     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    I'd get one Mac Pro for the heavy lifting and renders/ transcode etc. Do you care about correct color? You may want to have that Mac Pro connected to a professional display for proofing. The TB stuff is not really needed and you could recoup some cost there. RAID5 does not "back itself up" and should not be considered a backup solution by itself. You may want to backup the RAID as well. You can have one drive fail but the data will be untouchable until it rebuilds itself with a new drive.
     
  4. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #4
    If possible, maybe buy from Amazon or similar to avoid sales tax? Also, the iMac I would go to the 3.4GHz, since you're already getting the 2GB video card, might as well max it out.

    I personally would want a Mac Pro over an iMac, but that is more costly, since you'd need a separate display and it starts at $2499.
     
  5. top thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #5
    any idea of the speeds i can get from the raid drive when Im on the network ?
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    GigE. ~80-100MB/s. Network goes no faster.
     
  7. gglockner macrumors 6502

    gglockner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #7
    You can connect an iMac to an external display.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Boom. So right.
     
  9. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #9
    why are you updating?? just because it doesnt have thunderbolt??
     
  10. top thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
  11. Zwhaler macrumors 604

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #11
    For video editing I would strongly recommend a Mac Pro, but if not then get the 3.4GHz iMac with 16GB of RAM and it'll work pretty darn well for your desktop. Why 3.4 and not 3.1? Because the 3.4GHz i7 has hyperthreading which is a huge benefit when rendering and transcoding video.
     

Share This Page