Help me structure my debt!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Shaun.P, Mar 20, 2008.

1. Shaun.P macrumors 68000

Shaun.P

Hello there,

I was wondering if you all could kindly give me some thoughts and advice on my current situation regarding my debt. I explain the situation in great detail below, and I hope to come to some sort of conclusion on the best decision(s) to make.

----

I have a bank account with a £2750 overdraft, which is interest free, as I am a student. My balance is currently -£1750. Which leaves £1000.
    I get paid on the 25th of every month (i.e. this Monday) and roughly get £600.

Aside from the overdraft, I have 4 main sources of debt:

1. Capital One Classic Visa Card - 34.9% APR
    Current balance £160
    Credit Limit £200

I pay around £25 each month to this account, which is about 2.5 times the minimum payment.

2. Next Directory Store Card - 26.49% APR
    Current Balance ~£200
    Credit Limit £3600!

Again, I pay around £25 each month to this account, which is about 2.5 times the minimum payment

3. 48 Month Credit Agreement - 21.8%
    Date of Agreement - February 2007
    Amount of Credit: £219.35
    Duration of Agreement: 48 Months (£6.66 x 48)
    Total Amount Payable (if I take the full 48 Months to pay): £319.68.

I asked for a settlement figure in November 2007 which was £202.18.
    The sooner I pay it off, the less interest I pay. I would estimate a settlement figure of ~£180 if settled today.

4. 48 Month Credit Agreement - 24.9%
    Date of Agreement - February 2007
    Amount of Credit: £178.98
    Duration of Agreement: 48 Months (£5.68 x 48)
    Total Amount Payable (if I take the full 48 Months to pay): £272.64.

Again, I asked for a settlement figure in November 2007 which was £166.65.
    The sooner I pay it off, the less interest I pay. I would estimate a settlement figure of ~£145 if settled today.

Total Amount of Debt Owed: £685.