Help me unlock my iphone4 ios 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimbo23, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. jimbo23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #1
    bought a used iphone 4 locked into rogers and im with virgin mobile.

    it was at version 4.3.3 but i upgraded to ios5.0.1 as the unlock wasnt working.

    i got it jailbroken with redsn0w but everytime i try to boot it up via redsn0w after i turn it off, it either goes to the apple logo then the spinning wheel and just loops that over and over or i get this on my comp screen, but cydia doesnt open: (i need cydia to open to get it unlocked)

    [​IMG]

    this is killing me here. what doooo?
     
  2. DangerPanda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #2
    There is no way to unlock on ios 5 right now, you should have kept it at 4.3.3. Since you tether jailbreak it, you will have to boot tethered using the Just boot function in red snow.
     
  3. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #3
     
  4. jimbo23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #4
    wow im a ***** idiot.

    is there anyway i can downgrade to a earlier firmware then?
     
  5. DangerPanda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #5
    Even if you can restore an earlier firmware, the baseband will still remain the same. I'm sorry :/
    Some options you have:

    Sell it and get another one
    Wait for new gevey
    Replace logic board
    Call Rogers, but I heard they only unlock iPhones bought without contract
     
  6. jimbo23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #6
    fmllllll

    when do you think hackers will make a unlock available for it? is it worth waiting or should i just sell the thing?
     
  7. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #7
    Sell it. There won't be an unlock for a long time, if ever.
     
  8. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #8
    Hackers have been trying for almost a year to unlock it with no luck.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  10. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #10
    For almost a year?? Gevey sim unlocked all previous basebands before this latest 04.11.08 for the iPhone 4. What you talking about?
     
  11. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #11
    now that the iPhone is available on 3/4 major US carriers, the demand for an unlock has gone down tremendously. Best bet is to sell it and try to get a phone with the old baseband or buy an unlocked iPhone.
     
  12. lians60 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #12
    I too am waiting for an unlock.

    Im hoping the Gevey team will crack 5.01 soon!
     
  13. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #13
    an unlock has nothing to do with which version of iOS you are running... it's contingent upon your baseband version.
     
  14. lians60 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #14
    I have base band 04.11.08 which was upgraded when i got 5.01
     
  15. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #15
    Exactly how it's always been.... baseband upgrades are tied into iOS software upgrades so if you blindly update your OS version you will also update your baseband. If you wait to upgrade until the dev team has a solution like tinyumbrella or pwnage tool, you will be able to preserve your baseband.

    This is why, if you rely on an unlock or jailbreak, you are never supposed to upgrade iOS until the dev team says it's safe to do so and have the required solutions to re-jailbreak and preserve your baseband or have a new unlock for the new baseband.
     
  16. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    You can try using one of the paid hardware unlock services and see if they offer unlocks for Rogers.

    I bought my hardware unlock from http://cutyoursim.com/ earlier in the year.

    I've updated the firmware several times and I'm still hardware unlocked. You can try there.
     
  17. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #17
    I don't believe Cutyoursim is offering hard unlocks anymore, as the whitelist loophole they were using was shut down.
     
  18. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    They no longer offer unlocks for AT&T. I was lucky enough to be one of the first orders so I got my AT&T iPhone unlocked. When you look at the site they are still offering the service for other countries and cell providers.
     
  19. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #19
    I was talking about software unlocks which the OP seems to want to do instead of hardware unlocks.
     
  20. kwr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    #20
    Did you check with Rogers? They charged me $50, to unlock mine to work with Fido.
     

Share This Page