Help me with choice please - MBP 13 vs 15 (high-end specs)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KensaiMage, May 25, 2017.

1. KensaiMage macrumors member

KensaiMage

Hello,

I am going to buy my first macbook soon after WWDC. Please help me - which MBP with touch bar will fit my needs? I am planning to take the highest specs possible and 256 or 512 SSD. (yeah I want the touch bar - I believe apple will do something awesome with it sooner or later).

So MPB 13 Touch bar vs MBP 15 Touch bar?

Here is what I will use it for:
    1. I am a teacher so I will carry it with myself.
    2. I will use photoshop to do some very ligh graphic design for websites, business cards etc.
    3. I will want to develop my first iOS app so I will code in Swift 3 and xcode (my plan is to learn both).
    4. I am writing a book when I have some free time so I will continue doing so.
    5. I will take care of my forum and my blog with updates/changes etc.
    6. I will play old-school games like Heroes 3, Baldur's Gate I&II EE, Diablo 2 (including a possible upcoming remastered version).
    7. I do not have other computer at the moment, I just sold my 8-year old vaio.
    8. I will want to use the macbook I buy for 6 to 8 years and then sell it for still quite some amount of money - I am looking for the best resale value.

Both - Screen size and portability are important to me. However - I contacted XD-Desing cause I have their Bobby Compact backpack for 14-inch laptops and they said that the macbook pro 15-inch will still fit the pocket cause its size is not bigger than most common 14-inch laptops. However, I realise I will change my backpack sooner or later.

Please give me some advice.

2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety