HELP! Migration Assistant did not work

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iKimm, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. iKimm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    My old G5 iMac stopped working. Luckily I have everything backed up on a Western Digital external HD.

    I used migration assistant to transfer everything. Really just wanted my 10,000 photos and iTunes library (I did check all boxes though). The only thing that did transfer was applications with no files.

    In addition when I go to Time Machine and click on backups it shows 2 options - my new iMac and the folder for my G5 iMac. When I choose my G5 folder it shows everything there but when I try to open iPhoto I get the error "you can't open the application iPhoto in a Time Machine Backup".

    I am feeling a little panicked at this point. The photos are a collection over many years. I would be devatated if I cannot restore them.

    I do have Applecare and will call if I have to. I know that there are MANY more KNOWLEDGEABLE users on this site.

    Thank you in advance for your help!!!
     
  2. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #2
    OK

    To start with your photos in iPhoto will be stored in your Home folder > Pictures > iPhoto Library

    If you can recover that then you will be able to open that in iPhoto and have your library of 10,000 photos back to the last point it was saved at.
     
  3. iKimm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #3
    TY for the reply. The problem is that when I try to open iPhoto from my G5 backup I get the error "you can't open iPhoto because it is in a Time Machine Backup" .

    I can't figure out how to get it opened up?
     
  4. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #4
    You don't need to open it up, its just the program, none of your photos will be stored there, if you recover the iPhoto Library and open that using the iPhoto on the new iMac you'll be able to see the photos from that library.
     
  5. Satoneko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Migration assistant

    I think you've done the same mistake that I did the last time: you didn't do the migration when you first started up the new iMac. Didin't you put in a new account administrator name and password for your new mac? Then, when you do the migration you end up with two account administrator accounts and somehow the files fail to transfer into the applications (iTunes, iPhoto, Addressbook, etc.) on the new mac. The only way I figured out to fix this (get rid of the new administrator account) was to reinstall OSX, and do the migration at the very beginning before you get asked to put in the account name for your new mac, so you migrate everything including your account admin authority to your new mac.
     
  6. iKimm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #6
    Satoneko - YES! That is exactly what I did! I wanted to make sure my new iMac was good to go before I transferred everything over!!!

    So you reinstalled OSX & it asked you to then migrate from new?

    Did you have your FireWire plugged in right from the start or after you did the install?

    TY for your help. Vi greatly appreciate it!!! :D
     
  7. Satoneko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    >So you reinstalled OSX & it asked you to then migrate from new?

    After the OSX install is complete, it asks you whether you have an old mac and whether you want to migrate from it to the new mac.

    >Did you have your FireWire plugged in right from the start or after you did the install?

    Had a Time Capsule and did the transfer wirelessly, so don't know about FireWire connection, but I think the Migration Assistant asks you to pick the method of connection and you can plug in at that time. BTW FireWire is the way to go; wireless takes so much time.
     
  8. iKimm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #8
    Thank you for your help. I am going to try it today!
     
  9. iKimm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #9
    Ended up calling AppleCare to make sure I did everything right. They were great! All my photos & iTunes are now on my new acct!! Woot Woot!! :D

    Thanx again for your help :)
     
  10. capecod565 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #10
    I also lost the hard drive on my old iMac which was packed with my pictures and music.
    But I had copied them all to my external HD. And some of them to this year-old iMac as well.
    Though this was before Migration Assistant and before I had any of those nice backup programs.

    I had just dragged my iPhoto library over to the ext HD. It works if you do it that way too.

    I will be getting a new iMac soon, and will make a second back-up doing it that way as well, and will buy a new ext. HD, though keep the old one for just pictures and music. Never hurts to have a second backup for these things.
    Jane
     

Share This Page