Help! Migration Assistant -- USB??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mike-intosh, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. Mike-intosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to transfer files from my old MacBook (white) to my new MBP. I dont have the necessary FW or even an Ethernet cable.

    Is it possible to transfer between computers with a USB cord? I dont care about the length of time, I just need it done.

    Thank you!!! :cool:
     
  2. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    I have never heard of an option to transfer via USB over the years. Looks like a trip somewhere local to buy a FW or Ethernet cable (WalMart?-- Best Buy and such are way overpriced) or waiting for a cheap online cable to be delivered! :(
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    No not possible. However you can do it via ethernet cable.
     
  4. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    Ethernet's the new way to do this.

    I'm not sure an ethernet to firewire adapter would work that well. The adapters you see are just for network testers I believe.
     
  5. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    I understand the only thing he is missing is a 9-to-6 pin FireWire cable.
     
  6. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    Or an ethernet cable since that option is available via Migration Assistant also.
     
  7. JavierDiaz4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    Can't you use the same ethernet cable from your DSL/Cable internet? Or are you still on DialUp? Or just go to you next door neighbor and ask if you could borrow some Sugar and an Ethernet cable.
     
  8. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    Yes but the previous poster started talking about the mythical ethernet/FireWire converter, which he wouldn't need even if it were not possible via ethernet.
     
  9. Mike-intosh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #9
    thank you everyone!!

    now another problem.... MA saying that I can only put info ON TO my PREVIOUS Macbook, not transfer TO another computer. In other words, the Macbook seems to be a one-way street, so to speak.

    How can I fix this? :(
     

Share This Page