Help! Moving mkv to NAS corrupts file

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Galacticos, May 4, 2016.

  1. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #1
    Would really appreciate some help with this.

    I've downloaded a few mkv files from a Dropbox and if they download to my Mac they work fine, however if I download them straight to my NAS (network storage) the file gets corrupted and plays but the stops playing about a minute in. It stops at other places if I play past the initial stopping point. If I download the file to my Mac and then try to transfer to my NAS the file also gets corrupted. It's driving me crazy.
    It's an SMB share

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #2
    Might be a bit technical, but in Terminal I would do a
    Code:
    md5 homeMovie.mkv
    and compare that to the one on your NAS. If you mounted the NAS shared folder on your Mac, it would be something like
    Code:
    md5 /Volumes/NAS_SHARE/homeMovie.mkv
    And see if the file you have on your computer and the one on the NAS are actually different.

    If they are the same, it could be something else. If they are different, you may need a more secure way of copying over the file. Something like
    Code:
    rsync homeMovie.mkv /Volumes/NAS_SHARE/homeMovie.mkv
     
  3. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #3
    I had a similar prob when I had an external drive attached to my router as a NAS. Moved my media files on to it and randomly my movies would turn into empty folders. After scouring the interwebs for a few days I had come across a post stating that it had something to do with *NIX OS itself (can't find the post now but will link to it if I can). Since I repurposed my PC into a media server I haven't had any probs (that was about 3-4 months ago). It could be the NAS itself that's corrupting the files.
     
  4. Galacticos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #4
    Hey thanks for the suggestion. I had a copy of the file on my NAS and did the md5 and the code was different to a fresh download of the same file I had just done. I deleted the existing file and copied the fresh download to the NAS and now the md5 is showing as the same and the file is playing properly (for now anyway).
    Do you have any suggestion as to what is happening here/how to stop it coming back?
     
  5. Galacticos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #5
    Hey I've run into the same problem again except this time the file that I downloaded to my computer is now showing a different md5 to the md5 of the same working file. What should/can I do to fix this?
     

Share This Page