Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

petey2133

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 20, 2012
So, I know this has probably been covered, but most people are just talking about mavericks and its benefits of his it handles it memory usage.

I think its BS. Nothing has changed on my computer, no new software aside from the update and nothing unusual. Now my computer takes upwards of a minute to open photoshop and I know chrome is tough on macs but 15-20 seconds is the normal. I get the beach ball more often and when it comes to saving images, or opening them in preview it takes forever.

I am a photographer and I thought my 350 gigs of raw photos was the issue. I deleted them all. Was using like 90 gigs of 500. Checked my memory usage and from everyone who posted they claim its normal.

I was about to pull the trigger on some memory, noticed 16 gigs runs about $175 so thats cheaper than a new computer. Any idea how much of a difference this will make? Also, I am no computer genius I prefer cars and cameras.

I have attempted a few fixes provided from here and nothing

Thanks

thekev

macrumors 604
Aug 5, 2010