Help! my imac says no bootable device

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gadgetgirl85, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I loaded up my imac this morning and it asys no bootable device insert boot disk and press any key. I installed VMWare fusion yesterday and put Vista on it...could this have anything to do with it? I put the Mac OSX install 1 disk in and pressed any key but still nothing. PLEASE HELP ME
     
  2. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    Ok I was able to boot into the Mac osx drive but I'm scared this will happen again. Are there any settings I should change in VMWare fusion?
     
  3. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #3
    It could. We'll need more information as to exactly what you did.

    Additionally, try starting up holding the option key and then selecting the OS X startup disk.

    Edit: VMWare wouldn't be the problem. It depends on how you installed Vista.
     
  4. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    When I installed VMware fusion I went to new and created a new Virtual machine and installed Windows Vista there so I when I load the program Windows Vistas are one of the Virtual machines
     
  5. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #5
    Yeah, that shouldn't cause any issues. Unless you did something else in addition this is coincidence.
     

Share This Page