iPad Help! My iPad with iOS 7.1b1 suddenly stopped working

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by chfilm, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hey,
    I installed beta 1 back in November and everything worked fine. I didn't install b2 or 3, last night everything was fine, this morning I want to read macrumors on the iPad and all it shows is an activation error because I'm not a developer...

    I know one always installs betas on own risk etc. but why would it just stop working all of a sudden? What can I do now other than just resetting it to 7.0.4 and loose all my backups?
     
  2. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Betas expire. You must do a DFU restore.
     
  3. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Ok....weren't there ways to modify the backup file in order to be able to install it on 7.04? But In fact I believe I have only iCloud backups..
     
  4. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    If that's the case you'll have to start from scratch. You can restore your 7.1 backup when 7.1 is released to the public in the next few months.
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    I was wondering how many threads like this one we'll be seeing today.
     
  6. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    You can't do that on iCloud backups. You can update to beta 2 and restore the backup.
     
  7. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    I thought beta 2 is not possible to install as a non dev? Plus the problem with b1 was, I had to load the backup (of7.0.4) before loading the beta, because if I update, then load backup I would get the activation error..
     
  8. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Correct, starting with Beta 2, there is no way to use the beta unless you are a registered developer. No tricks around it.

    Your only choice is to restore to iOS 7.0.4. You will have to start from scratch and download your apps, etc..
     
  9. virginblue4 macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    And this is why you shouldn't use betas unless you have a developers account.
     
  10. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    7.0.4 is just unbearable! Cmon Apple just release 7.1 already!
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Let's not rush it and have it come out with some issues (even if it's better in general than what's out there now), only so that we can impatiently wait for another release to fix those issues.
     
  12. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    well I've got everything set up as new now.. and I hate looking at that nasty five finger safari closing gesture mess on my new ipad air :(
     
  13. thadoggfather Suspended

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #13
    Restore to beta 2 or 3 jail break and modify plist to remove beta string and spoof 7.0.4 version. Then you do have to worry about expiration.

    I don't blame you on the nastiness

    GM shouldn't be too far away
     
  14. Thepoobear macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #14
    iPad air on 7.0.4 is a flat out disservice. Jobs wouldn't have ever allowed this mess, sad to see that Cook did.

    They should have fixed the poor animations and choppy UI before doing any of whatever else they are working on. Seeing as the betas are much improved in the animations dept. they could have released a 7.0.5 to tie us over.
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    You think it would somehow speed up getting the changes? It's likely that the changes weren't small fixes and needed a larger release with more testing.
     
  16. Thepoobear macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #16
    Yea,I do think Apple could have fixed a lot of those animations already. They chose to release the iPad when they did. They showed they can hurry products when it makes them $$$. Looks like they found that they could sell a ton and THEN finish up the rest later.

    I care most about the sticky UI. They could have done a small update, fixing some UI stuff for the time being.

    I expect much more from them. I really do.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    I agree that they should have fixed them sooner and probably shouldn't have had them to begin with. But what we can't really tell is whether or not it could really take some small release that they could have done quickly to address it all. Perhaps it does take a larger release to get in the necessary changes to really address that properly and without potentially creating other issues.
     

Share This Page