Help! My programs crash when I try to print.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HDLion, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. HDLion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #1
    I tried to print from a website and safari crashed. So I tried Firefox and that also crashed. I thought it might have been the site so I tried to print from Photoshop and it did the same thing. Im not sure what's going on but this is what my console log had:

    Mac OS X Version 10.4.11 (Build 8S2167)
    2008-01-02 17:08:09 -0800
    2008-01-02 17:08:10.159 loginwindow[66] FSResolveAliasWithMountFlags returned err = -43
    Jan 2 17:08:11 h-ds-computer mDNSResponder: Adding browse domain local.
    Jan 2 17:08:15 h-ds-computer VersionCueCS2Daemon[203]: warning: VersionCueCS2Daemon not started by mach_init process (parent pid: 1)
    2008-01-02 17:08:15.873 SystemUIServer[84]
    MenuCracker
    see http://sourceforge.net/projects/menucracker
    MenuCracker is now loaded. Ready to accept new menus. Ignore the failure message that follow.
    2008-01-02 17:08:17.903 SystemUIServer[84] failed to load Menu Extra: NSBundle </Users/hd/Library/Application Support/iStat menus/Extras/MenuCracker.menu> (loaded)
    2008-01-02 17:08:18.589 SystemUIServer[84] lang is:en
    2008-01-02 17:08:27.135 SystemUIServer[84] MenuCracker: Loading 'iStatMenusDisks'.
    2008-01-02 17:08:27.957 SystemUIServer[84] MenuCracker: Loading 'iStatMenusTemps'.
    2008-01-02 17:08:33.053 SystemUIServer[84] MenuCracker: Loading 'iStatMenusFans'.
    2008-01-02 17:08:33.551 SystemUIServer[84] MenuCracker: Loading 'iStatMenusMemory'.
    (timer):Null value
    terminate called without an active exception
    terminate called without an active exception
    2008-01-02 17:11:33.832 hpSuppliesTool[239] ERROR > Unable to write data to output *** -[NSConcreteFileHandle writeData:]: Broken pipe
    terminate called without an active exception
    2008-01-02 17:11:41.462 hpSuppliesTool[240] ERROR > Unable to write data to output *** -[NSConcreteFileHandle writeData:]: Broken pipe
    Attempt to release a printing object without first doing a retain!!!
    Attempt to release a printing object without first doing a retain!!!
     
  2. HDLion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
  3. Gbeav macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    #3
    Can't help you and it's probably a bug but I always print to a pdf and then print that if it helps, makes it look better.
     
  4. agillett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #4
    Same thing

    Has anyone had any luck fixing this?:eek:
     
  5. chepistolas macrumors member

    chepistolas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Did you reformat and forget to install the printer drivers? Because that's what happened to me.
     
  6. dwdeck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    New Port Richey, FL
    #6
    App crashes

    I kind of have the same problem. I have a HP plugged into an eMAC and I'm trying to print from my iBook using shared printer. No matter what app I'm using that app crashes as soon as I go into print window. Any ideas? i've set up printer sharing etal.......
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    What kind of printer are you using? What are the specs of your computer? How is the printer connected? Does this happen on other computers?

    You need to provide details and what you've tried to troubleshoot. Just expecting us to be able to read an error log is, well, too technical.
     
  8. dwdeck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    New Port Richey, FL
    #8
    App crash

    Desk top is a eMAC 1.42 GHz PowerPC G4 1GB DDR SDRAM running 10.4.11

    Lap top is MacBook running 10.4.11 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    Printer is HP 1610 All-in-one hardwire to eMac via usb

    I did have a successful print from the laptop the very first time I set this up. Now all I get is an application crash not matter what app I'm using at that time. Now problems printing from eMAC but can't do it from laptop.
     

Share This Page