HELP! NAS Raid issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Stieller, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. Stieller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #1
    Hi everyone.
    I'm hoping someone can help me.
    I have a Lacie Big 5 NAS with 4 x 3tb hard disks.
    It started to play up 2 days ago and a drive failed and asked to be replaced.
    I put a new drive in and it began to sync.
    Once the sync had finished, i could no longer access my files or mount the volumes.
    heres the log
    2016-04-19 02:45:09 - The RAID array is clean
    2016-04-19 02:45:05 - The drive in slot 4 is clean
    2016-04-19 02:45:05 - The drive in slot 2 is clean
    2016-04-19 02:45:04 - The drive in slot 3 is clean
    2016-04-19 02:45:03 - The drive in slot 1 is clean
    2016-04-18 11:14:03 - The RAID array is synchronizing
    2016-04-18 11:13:57 - The drive in slot 2 is synchronizing
    2016-04-18 11:13:46 - The drive in slot 4 is synchronizing
    2016-04-18 11:13:45 - The drive in slot 3 is synchronizing
    2016-04-18 11:13:44 - The drive in slot 1 is synchronizing
    2016-04-18 11:11:53 - The drive in slot 2 is new
    2016-04-18 10:48:55 - The drive in slot 2 is missing
    2016-04-18 10:40:19 - The RAID array is degraded

    It appears as though all my data is gone? is this correct ?
    Is there a way to recover or access my old files?

    i can no longer mount the device as the previous "shares" aren't there anymore... its as if it was first set up..But when it was first set up i had an admin folder.. i don't even have that anymore
    I'm hoping the data is still there and for whatever reason it just thinks they are not

    help..
     

    Attached Files:

  2. duervo, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016

    duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #2
    You're data is probably still there. Check the time stamps in those log entries. The last entry says that the raid rebuild completed ("The RAID array is clean" ... That's a good message.)

    Do a controlled shutdown of the system, and then power it back on. It's most likely that the OS unmounted your shares for some reason when it was rebuilding the array. If so, a reboot of the system should correct that

    If for some reason that does not fix it, then contact Lacie Support.

    If it turns out that your data is gone, then that really sucks. I don't know what to tell you in that case ... School of hard knocks? Next time, back it all up? Get a better NAS? It all sounds a little harsh to me, but really wouldn't be intended as such ... It's more along the lines of, "what have we learned from this horrible experience, and what can we do to minimize risk it will happen again? (get a better NAS ... Lacie and Seagate are the same company now ... I've had horrible luck with Seagate products and now avoid them like a plague), as well as what can we do to minimize impact if it does happen again? (do routine backups.)"
     
  3. Stieller thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #3

    I shall give it a go.
    Id already contacted Lacie support... they have sent me 6 emails just asking me questions but have offered nothing else as of yet.
     
  4. Stieller thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
  5. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #5
    Bummer. No response from Lacie support either?
     
  6. Stieller thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #6
    Yeah all they offered was
    "sounds like its an unfortunate malfunction. i too have lost data from a malfunction. i suggest next time you perform regular backups"

    VERY helpful.
     
  7. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #7
    Having data lost from the automated recovery of a failed drive in a RAID array and calling it an "unfortunate malfunction" is a gross understatement. RAID protection is a fundamental characteristic of a 5-bay NAS like what you've purchased. If the RAID protection and recovery mechanisms are broken, as they appear to be in your case, then that's a rude awakening to the reality of Lacie products.

    I would try to login to the NAS via SSH and have a look around to make sure the data really is gone.

    If the data really is gone, then get rid of the NAS. Replace it with a Qnap or Synology unit. Stay away from Drobo.

    I would say keep the Lacie as a backup target for a Qnap or Synolgy NAS (rsync), but then what guarantee will you have that your backup(s) would be safe? Absolutely none.
     
  8. Stieller thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #8
    Yeah... my thoughts exactly.

    whats "SSH"? ill give that a go.. but i don't know what that is
     
  9. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #9
    SSH is the network protocol used to login to a host (running an SSH server) (ie: the Lacie NAS) via command-line (or Terminal.app).

    It looks like Lacie locked down their products though, so that you have to jump through some hoops to get logged into them now via SSH.

    You should ask for help here: http://plugout.net/

    The community there seems to know a lot about Lacie storage products, and should be able to help you further.

    For what it's worth, I suspect the filesystem on your RAID volume has become corrupt, but the only way to know for sure is to get logged in via command-line and start digging into logs. A corrupt filesystem will usually prevent the OS from being able to mount it.
     
  10. Stieller thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #10
    thank you
     

Share This Page