iPhone Help needed in activating a jailbroken/unlocked iphone 3GS!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ashleighjade, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. ashleighjade macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #1
    Sorry it's so long, but i don't have a clue. Please helppp!

    I bought my iphone 3GS unlocked and already jailbroken but I didn't really know much about it. So a few days ago I was sorting out my itunes and a message popped up saying that the itunes on my phone needed updating so I went along with the update and did what it told me to do.

    However, when my phone came back on to activate it, in the corner of the screen it says no service although my sim card is working fine in other phones. I can get up to the stage of choosing a wi-fi network but once i connect the message 'Your iphone cannot be activated because the activation server is temporarily unavailable. Try connecting to itunes to activate it or try again in a few minutes'

    This is when I then tried connecting to itunes but another message appears about putting a sim in the phone (eventhough there is already a sim) ive tried a different sim card but it makes no difference. Ive been reading forums all day and have had no luck, no error number pops up, I have already tried restoring the phone by pressing the home and off button but I always end up at the same point.....any ideas? :confused:
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    Before messing around with your you need to educate yourself.

    You didn't update itunes but you update the firmware version on your phone to the latest 5.1.1

    Your phone is locked to a specific carrier if you get the sim invalid message.
    Your phone needs to be activated.

    You can do that by using a program called redsn0w
    You can find tutorials on iclarified.com

    With redsn0w jailbreak your phone, during the process it will ask if you want to activate the phone, do so.

    Now you'll be able to access the homescreen, phone still will show no signal.
    Your phone is still locked to the original carrier.

    Next find out which BaseBand your phone has, its the radioportion of the phones firmware, you can find it in Settings/General/Info bottom entry modemversion

    Do these steps first, if and how to recover full functionallty of your phone largely depends on current iOS and BaseBand version and how old your phone is.
     
  3. ashleighjade thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #3
    Thankyou!

    Thank you for your advice it's worked so far and ive got up to my homescreen like you said. My Baseband version is 06.15.00 and the iOS of the phone is 5.1.1. The phone isn't really old as I bought it from a friend soon after she had bought it, but I'm not sure if there is a way to find out the exact age. Sorry to be a nag but do you know if there's a way to get the sim card working again? You've been a great help :)
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
  5. ashleighjade thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for your help I got half way through and everything was going fine, but the phone for some reason has just turned off and even when i charge it, it wont turn back on so im just going to have to take it into the shop to see what they can do.
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    Hold power and home together for 1 minute should turn on
     
  7. jawadmasood26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #7
    help plz

    mate i hope u will be doing great. mate i am having the same problem with my 3gs, i had updated it to ios6 after jail broken it still was unable to have access over signals. i restored my 3gs again to ios6 but now the problem i am having is that SERVICE NOT AVAILABLE when i connect to wifi for activation and itunes saying no sim card installed. I even have tried to downgrade to ios5 from ios6. everything was running fine but my mobile was stuck at "transferring control to jailbreak" for about 10 - 15 mins & then boots up. again i am having the same problem with activation and itunes as well. I have tried allot but all in vain. can u please please help me out mate? please i really am in need..
    I am using (redsnow in 0.9.14b1) and (ipone2,1-5.1.1_9B206) but it not helping me. please help me out to solve this problem


     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  9. jawadmasood26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #9
    mate i have done it last night with the latest version of redsnow 0.9.15b as well. but the same problem while downgrading to ios5. it did not help me. any other solutions plz?
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  11. jawadmasood26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #11
    sim card problem

    mate thanks for your reply. mate somehow i have activated my mobile. everything is fine now. but the problem i am having is that my sim is unable to runin it. i have installed ultrasnow adn fixer from cydia. but still is not having service. i installed it by latest version of redsnow. i do not knwo what to do now. my firmware is 6.15 and cydia blobs are 4.1, 5.1.1
    please tell me how can i make my mobile to have access on sim card it is totally out of my knowledge. i donot have any idea abt it. plz help me
     
  12. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    Read up on the difference between firmware and baseband.

    Downgrade your 06.15.0 BB to 05.13.04
    Use ultrasn0w and ultrasn0w fixer.

    iClarified.com has good tutorials
     
  13. zn007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    #13
    I have jailbroken and activated my iphone 4 already. If I follow these steps won't it harm my phone as I have already jailbroke it?
    I am getting the invalid sim message too and need help badly!
    I have a iphone 4 which is still running on IOS 4.0 which is why I wanted to upgrade it...
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    The BB downgrade only works on the 3GS not on the IP4.

    To UNLOCK your phone on 4.0 you need to install ultrasn0w in cydia.
    Ultrasn0w only works on BB 1.59.00!
    To upgrade your firmware you need to preserve your BB!!

    If you only just now have jailbroken the phone you will probably won't have SHSH/blbs/hashes for it.

    Those are needed to upgrade to a higher firmware version.
    You can upgrade to 6.01 without them as Apple is still "signing" that firmware which they do with the latest firmware.

    If you want to upgrade to 6.01 you can jailbreak the phone, but it will be a tethered jailbreak only at the moment, if you upgrade preserve your 1.59.00 BB!!!
     
  15. aa.almeida1976 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Location:
    Brazil
    #15
    Downgrading baseband problrm

    Hi, Guys, I´m facing a similar problem. I have an iPhone 3GS IOS 4.1, old bootrom, baseband 06.15.00. I did al the recipy from iClarified, using both redsn0w 0.9.14b1 and 0.9.15b3 with two different computers.
    After the redsn0w does what it is supposed to do, a series of commands can be seen scroling in iPhone's screen until the phrase "Transferring control to Jailbrake" gets stuck for 5-10 minutes and then other commands start scrolling.
    The phone reboots without appearing the pineaple and nothing seems to have happened.
    Can anyone help me?
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16

Share This Page