Help needed with IP address

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Evilcivic, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Evilcivic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #1
    I recently just bought my Airport extreme base station router. However, after finishing my last step of my setting it appears that my IP address could not be recognized by my router. Any of you guys out here have a solution to help me solve my IP address problem?
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2

    You have a fixed IP Address? You entered it manually and the router said it was wrong? Maybe be you can tell us what you entered, exactly where you entered it and the exact wording of the error.

    My guess is that you typed in the wrong thing. maybe even simple a typo like a comma in place of a dot. or an "O" rather then a "0".
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Contact Apple, or set it up again using Airport utility.
     
  4. Evilcivic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #4
    Hi, I've already tried using airport utility to set up the router. I have followed every step in the menu but after I have finish updating my settings, the AP utility prompt to me tat saying invalid IP address.
     
  5. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    1. When EVER you change a DEVICE that is right behind an ISP modem you MUST turn the modem OFF!!!

    2. Leave the modem OFF for at least three minutes!

    3. Connect the new device to the modem and turn that device to on.

    5. After the three minute wait turn the ISP modem back ON!

    The ISP modem then will send the new MAC Address to the ISP server port. The Server will NOT auto-sense a new MAC address that is connected to it. So you must force the ISP modem & Server to search for a new MAC address.

    So just turn off you ISP modem for three minutes and turn it back on. The ISP modem will dish out an IP to the Extreme's WAN port.
     
  6. Evilcivic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #6
    Great! I will try it out again. Thanks for your advice. :)
     

Share This Page