Help needed with ' locked-out' iMac 21.5 !

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pedropeter, Mar 7, 2012.

1. pedropeter, Mar 7, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012

pedropeter macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie here and have had big problems with an iMac 21.5, 3.06GHz Intel i3 processor and 4GB Ram, running Snow Leopard 10.6 which I can't confirm as I can't access the ' About my Mac' details as the bought-from-new machine after some 4 months use decided to lock me out by not accepting my password which I KNOW to be correct.
    Having tried the various Installation disks I have got nowhere and was recently advised to buy a 10.6 full retail install disc which I have done.
    I have tried loading the disk from switch on by holding down key C but can't seem to get past the log in screen which refuses to accept my correct password...

Any thoughts about what I'm doing wrong most welcome.

2. pedropeter, Mar 7, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012

pedropeter thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, that's very interesting - although I am talking about my Log-in password - not the Admin.password - although they do happen to be the same.
    I personally don't feel competent enough to try the command line possibility although I have a friend who will try it - that is assuming we can actually access this feature !
    Any thoughts anyone on just why I can't access the retail install disk by holding down 'C' ?

3. matbook101, Mar 7, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012

matbook101 macrumors 6502

matbook101

1) Hold down command + s while computer is restarting
    2) type /sbin/ mount -uw /
    3) type passwd root
    4) reset your root pass
    5) type exit
    6) When promoted to log in choose other and enter root for username and whatever pass you chose
    7) Go to System Prefs -> Accounts and change pass for other account

May want to write down the instructions before you start.

4. pedropeter thread starter macrumors newbie