Help: new iMac with Sony HDTV

Discussion in 'iMac' started by FrenchPB, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. FrenchPB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #1
    Guys,


    I just linked my brand new iMac to my Sony Bravia HDTV (32D3000) using a mini-DVI/VGA connector and a VGA extension cable. However, my iMac doesn't detect my HDTV, and only says "VGA monitor" and offers me resolution up to 800x600 60Hz (the native res of my TV is 1366x768) !!

    What can I do to make it work ? It was working with my 2-year old MacBook, so I thought I'd have no problem doing the same thing with my iMac. Btw, I got the 2,66Ghz model.

    Can you help me ?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5C1 Safari/525.20)

    I would be using DVI or HDMI into your TV. Maybe that will fix the problem.
     
  3. FrenchPB thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #3
    I bought the connector and the extension cable so I'd like to make it work with what I have. Like I said, it was working with an old MacBook, so there must be a way to make it work with a new iMac ?
     
  4. FrenchPB thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #4
    OK, I found a way of doing it. On display preferences, there are two windows for each screen. On the TV display preferences, I set it up to 1280x768, then I went into my screen preferences for that resolution to match the width of my screen (large 2 setup on the Sony Bravia).

    It works well with movies, but it's not ideal on text. Any other way to get a 1360x768 resolution from the iMac to the HDTV ?
     
  5. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    this happens to allot of people

    i would love to do the same with my tv in my room when i get a bigger one
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    Fritz,

    Is there anything in your Sony's manual that indicates a different resolution by vga than by digital (i.e., HDMI)? Can you get your hands on an HDMI cable that'll work for your iMac? HDMI has better communication between devices.
     

Share This Page