Help! New iTunes wants to Restore Phone.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AT101ET, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. AT101ET macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK (London)
    #1
    I just updated my Mac to Yosemite.
    During the update a new iTunes was installed.
    Now when I connect my phone it wants me to set up my phone only allowing a restore from backup or set up as a new phone.
    However, I don't want to do either.
    My last backup was a while ago and I've got quite a few new things that I don't want to lose.
    Setting up as a new phone is out the question.

    What can I do?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Providing you have signed in with the same Apple ID as your iPhone it will create a new backup before it does anything.
     
  3. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #3
    Is the itunes account shown on your phone the same as the itunes account on the computer?
     
  4. AT101ET thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK (London)
    #4
    Same Apple ID. It shows my account and everything including how much credit I have. Just doesn't let me access anything on the iPhone and wants me to set it up as a new phone.

    ----------

    It is the same.
     
  5. AT101ET thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK (London)
    #5
    Amy other suggestions? Trying to sort this asap. Thanks
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Just select setup as new.
    It will leave everything that is on it right now intact and let you go in and access your itunes library and sync whatever you want to it.
    I had that issue before and that's what I did.
     

Share This Page