Help! New To Mac! What Option?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ukmac23, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. ukmac23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    Hi I'm buying a new Mac soon to do CAD and other PCB things or school, CS4, Sims 2 etc. Whick option is best for me? I was going to wait until Nehalem to get a Mac and stick with my PC but I cant its soooooo slow!
    Apple - Macbook Pro 15-Inch 2.53GHz
    4GB Memory
    320GB Hard Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 512MB
    £1,485.00
    Apple Remote £12.76
    Apple - iWork '08 £46.00

    SubTotal £1,543.76
    FREE Del £0.00
    VAT @ 17.5% £270.16

    Grand Total
    £1,813.92

    Apple - Macbook Pro 15-Inch 2.53GHz £1,485.00
    2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo £175.00
    4GB Memory
    320GB Hard Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 512MB
    Apple Remote £12.76
    Apple - iWork '08 £46.00

    SubTotal £1,718.76
    FREE Del £0.00
    VAT @ 17.5% £300.78

    Grand Total
    £2,019.54

    Apple - MacBook 13-Inch 2.4GHz (Aluminium) £975.00
    Apple - iWork '08 £46.00
    Apple - Remote £12.76

    SubTotal £1,033.76
    FREE Del £0.00
    VAT @ 17.5% £180.91

    Grand Total
    £1,214.67

    Apple - Macbook Pro 15-Inch 2.4GHz £1,189.00
    Apple Remote £12.76
    Apple - iWork '08 £46.00

    SubTotal £1,247.76
    FREE Del £0.00
    VAT @ 17.5% £218.36

    Grand Total
    £1,466.12

    Or a top end MB and a 24" LED Display plus iWork and a remote.

    Thanks
     
  2. yoppie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    If you're going to be doing heavy graphics stuff, you're going to need/want the MacBook Pro.
     
  3. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #3
    The Macbook Pro display is better than the Macbook, so if that is important to you, best go with the MBP. Also if GFX speed is important, go with the MBP too.

    iWork will come pre-installed, so save your money and try it for free for a month before forking out for a licence.

    You can buy 2 Apple remotes from eBay for the price of 1 from Apple themselves.

    Also memory is cheaper from eBay as well, but it won't be covered under warranty if you go down that route.

    Get as much hard disk space and memory as you can afford. You can never have too much.

    Get Applecare - especially for a laptop. You'll regret it afterwards, but you can always buy this before the year warranty is up.
     
  4. deorg macrumors 6502

    deorg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #4
    I though that auto cad was never made for a mac.
    How come why not?
     
  5. yanny13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #5
    Are you a student? Those prices you were quoting don't look like you're getting an education discount on them. Even if you're not at Uni but at school and 18 or over, you can also get a discount, just that it's not as big.

    If you are going to be doing lots of CAD modelling and rendering, I would be looking at the Pro. I am an architecture student and have just ordered a new 2.53GHz Pro, for the bigger screen and also for the better performance with the programs that I use.

    Do you have a budget or an upper spending limit? There's an £800 difference between the high-end and low-end options that you posted.
     
  6. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #6
    I use software just for windows from my school. I think Ill use VMware Fusion as I want to run the softwrae while still using Mac CS4 and iWork etc.
     
  7. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #7
    Im not buying my parents are. Well I was wondering over the 2.53GHz as it is great, dont know about the 2.8GHz upgrade. What do you think?
     
  8. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #8
    Unless your doing serious nunber crunching (video encoding or 3D rendering) then it's a waste of money IMO.
     
  9. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #9
    Probally not - 2.53GHz looks great. Whats the real differnce between the 2.4GHz and 2.53GHz GPU?
     
  10. wwe2008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #10
    I think the 2.4GHz will be okay. is it? plus you said your selling for nehalem then that should be okay plus you can save.
    thanks
     
  11. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #11
    i got the 2.4, apple store employees told me i wont know if its 2.5 or 2.4
     
  12. wwe2008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #12
    I thought that too. also I don't think you can tell the difference of the GPU to.
     
  13. wwe2008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #13
    I don't know if the 2.4GHZ will run CAD such as sketch up though
     
  14. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    For CAD and stuff, have you considered a Thinkpad?
     
  15. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #15
    no way am I staying with windows? so will a 2.4GHz run cad on VMware and run sketch up?
    thanks
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Either way you need Windows for CAD; and don't run CAD in a VM.
     
  17. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #17
    why not. and will a 2.4GHz be fine for everything else unsaid in did? including sketch up.
     
  18. delude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  19. Tetrapact macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #19
    Su

    SketchUp really doesn't need a lot of power to run (im currently running on a 2.1 singlecore centrino), but if you want to render your images in Podium og Kerkythea it might be a god idea with more speed. CS4 will also have GPU acceleration for rendering, but I have no idea on how this will vary from 256 to 512 mb.
     
  20. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #20
    I heard that the 512VRAM only uses 256MB anyway
    thanks
     
  21. IrI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    Don't add iWork to your order when configuring the laptop. Instead configure the laptop then browse the store to add it and it'll only be £35. Crazy why its more expensive on the configuration page.
     
  22. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #22
    anyone know about this?
    thanks
     
  23. ukmac23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008

Share This Page