Help No Admin Account

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jam30, May 14, 2008.

  1. jam30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    Please help!

    I have somehow managed to change my admin account into a standard account within the last hour!

    I can't adjust the users panel in the system prefs as it wont let me unlock it! I know that the password is correct but it can't find the user; all it tells me is that the username / password is incorrect!

    I had time machine plugged in at the time and know that it had backed up ok. Is there a way that I can load the entire system as it was at that time?

    If not how do I reset it back to tiger so that I can re-instal leopard and again then how do I get everything I would need off of time machine!

    Please help - I'm about to pull all my hair out!

    JM
     
  2. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Can you take a screen shot of your accounts panel in system preferences?
     
  3. jam30 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #3
    actually attached this time
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #4
    Boot from your Leopard Disc and then in the Utilities menu, select Restore System from Backup. Make sure your backup drive is connected and that you specify a date where you were admin.
     
  5. jam30 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #5
    I can't as it requires the admin username which it can't find.

    seriously starting to worry now!
     
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    You're booting from the CD/DVD?
     
  7. jam30 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #7
    Yeah the Leopard disk that I got when I upgraded from Tiger
     
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Can you enable root as a non-admin? I doubt it.

    Applications>Utilities>Directory Utilities
    Edit Menu > Enable Root User

    Be sure to set a password.
     
  9. jam30 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #9
    No - now seeing what is becoming the dreaded padlock icon
     
  10. jam30 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #10
    Now working,

    I tried the solution offered under the help files for when this happens following a leopard upgrade.

    It worked second time round; I was a little stressed and must have missed something the first time!
     

Share This Page