HELP! No Bootable Device - Win XP SP3

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Farseen, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. Farseen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I've been searching for days on how to fix this problem, so I'll be very clear with what I have already tried. But first let me describe to you my situation:

    Mac Pro 2006 (Intel Based)

    Used separate hard drive (internally) to install Windows from an OEM CD with Service Pack 3.

    Install went fine, everything worked as usual. I could hold option on startup and choose my OS.

    Few days later, I moved my Mac Pro from my home to my work, and when I started my Mac Pro, holding the option key of course, it went straight to Windows XP. I thought that was odd, so I tried a restart, and again same thing. I took out the hard drive with Win XP on it, and restarted computer holding option - this time went to a black screen that said "No Bootable Device".

    Then I tried holding CMD + OPTION + R + P to reset my PRAM (on a USB keyboard to assure connectivity). No luck.

    I fiddled with my drives, took them out, put them back in, and randomly it worked! I held alt and chose my OS. Snow Leopard started up as if nothing ever went wrong. I then re-started and booted into XP totally fine. Went back to OSX and everything was 100% good.

    A week or so later, after unplugging my Mac Pro, and re-plugging it back in - same problem. Option key won't let me choose OS, and when I take out Win XP hard drive, I get the "No Bootable Device".

    My guess is that it thinks it has to start into Windows XP when the drive isn't there, but I don't get why it won't work when I simply hold the alt key. Unfortunately, since I installed straight to SP3 - I can't install Bootcamp on windows side to tell it to boot to OSX. I also believe I can not downgrade.

    Anyone?
     
  2. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    It sounds like after you are unplugging it, the machine thinks the XP drive is the primary disk. Any reason why you didn't use boot camp and are using XP?
     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    Probably because he has more than 1 HDD:D
    I never use Boot camp. Unnecessary for Mac Pro. But I have never had boot loader issues either. Boot camp may clear confusion. You can install a trial of parallels or VMware and point to HDD and see if it is bootable that way. You may have to re-install GPU drivers though. I did last time I did that.
     
  4. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Yeah. Good point.
     
  5. Farseen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Fixed!

    FIXED!

    Thank you all for your responses!

    The downloadable version of BootCamp will not install on a machine with Windows Service Pack 3. Since I installed it off of an OEM CD, there's no way to rollback to Service Pack 2 without having an original SP2 CD.

    BUT - to anyone else out there with the same problem...

    If you put a snow leopard CD in, you can install a pretty janky version of Bootcamp even on Service Pack 3. I did that, pointed to my Mac OSX Install HD and voila! Now no more problems. Everything's back to usual.

    I hope this comes in handy to some people, because I spent 4 hours surfing forums and youtube videos without anyone mentioning this simple fix! :cool:
     
  6. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #6
    What does the number of HDD have to do with boot camp?

    I have 4 drives and 5 partitions. Bootcamp was the last partition I created and setup. No problems, yet.

    Are there known issues with it?
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    You don't need to use Boot Camp if you are dedicating an entire HDD to Windows. Pop in the Win installer and format your disk and install. Then grab updated component drivers and graphics drivers and your good. You need boot camp for single HDD that run HFS+ and NTFS on same physical disk.
     

Share This Page