Help number port- Iphone 5 att prepaid to att postpaid family plan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by donkeycrushr, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. donkeycrushr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #1
    I currently have an att iphone 5 gophone prepaid plan and I want to switch over to my sister's att postpaid family plan. But I was told at the att store that this cannot be done because I cannot port my old number from att prepaid to att postpaid. I would have to get a new number (I want to keep my old number as I have had this number the last 10 years).

    Has anyone come across this issue and what can I do to switch to my sister's postpaid plan while keeping my old number? Thanks.
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Try calling AT&T to see if they're more able to help.
     
  3. donkeycrushr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #3
    I called att and they told me to go back to the store.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Could be their policy that they do not port prepaid numbers to post paid plans. You may want to ask to speak with the supervisor. Often the stores aren't able to do things that can be done over the phone.

    Transfer the number to T-Mobile for a month and then transfer it back to AT&T?
     
  5. donkeycrushr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #5
    Yea thanks, that sounds like it could work.
     
  6. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    May seem obvious, but did you try to just give them the number and see what happens? I mean don't mention it's a prepaid AT&T line?
     
  7. serega macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    The could do it at ATT store. I switched 3 phones. 2 from Verizon, 1 from ATT prepaid, a reason I didn't port ATT prepaid number because I wouldn't get $100 for switching.
     
  8. mustafu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    #8
    I had the same issue trying to migrate from GoPhone to postpaid. Both in store and porting dept over the phone said it couldn't be done. I ended up porting it out to an old tracfone I had, then porting it back in.
     
  9. donkeycrushr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #9
    thanks for the help guys. I ported my number over to T-mobile prepaid waited a day and then ported over to my sister's att post paid account.
     

Share This Page