Help on 1st Macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xinou, Apr 12, 2011.

1. xinou macrumors newbie

Hey guys, this is my first time buying an apple product. I've been saving money so i could buy a MBP, since my current Acer Aspire 5738ZG hasn't been able to serve my needs.

I'll be needing the MBP for:

- Lot of HD Video & Photo Editing (so i've excluded the 13inch MBP for the smaller screen).
    - Multiple Internet Pages with word & Excel at the same time
    - Virtual Machine of Windows to use one or two light programs
    - Light Music editing
    - No Gaming at all

I'm thinking of buying the 15 inch MBP, I just don't know if the low end 15 MBPs graphic display will meet my needs for the next 4 or 5 years, and if i stick to the default 4gb RAM or upgrade to 8gb?

Could you guys please tell me what you think?
    Thanks in advance;)

2. cambookpro macrumors 603

cambookpro

I'm almost in the same boat, except this will be my 3rd MBP. I'll use it for almost exactly the same uses as you.

I'll be getting the 15" 2.2GHz MBP with hi-res glossy screen, 750GB HD and 8GB of RAM from Crucial. Should last at least 4 years.

3. simsaladimbamba

The low end 15" would suffice, but consider getting the High-Res screen with 1680 x 1050 pixel.
    You can upgrade RAM always later, as after-market RAM is cheaper than Apple RAM.

4. xinou thread starter macrumors newbie

So the low15 MBP Radeon 6490M with 256mb wouldnt let me down, for the next 4 or 5 years? and if i install the RAM myself, will that void the warranty?
    the price diference between the low and the high end here in Europe (including the hi res screen) would be of 350 Euros which is something.

5. simsaladimbamba

If you don't game, then the GPU will suffice for video and photo editing, but if you have the 350€, then get the higher GPU, especially if you want to have that Mac for 4/5 years. Many applications will rely on the GPU more often in the future, thus a faster GPU can help.