Help... on video file conversiona for streaming to iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by chris650, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. chris650 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    I have all my DVD ripped to ISO. Now, after all the reading, I realize that I will have to convert/transcode to something else before I can stream it to Ipad.

    Now, may I ask all of you for a bit more info, before I decide on what route I am going to take.

    1. As I have always managed my video by keeping a completely native ISO file, I don't know much about various file formats and resolutions, e.g. avi, mpeg, h264..... What would be the highest resolution and best format to keep? Since I will have to convert/transcode my ISO to another format, I might as well keep the highest fidelity possible.

    2. Once I decide on what file format I am going to convert/transcode to, could anyone here suggest a simple program to do BATCH conversion for my hundreds of DVD ISO files?
     
  2. TraceyS/FL macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #2
    Handbrake.

    Start with a preset.

    It does a batch convert too.
     
  3. chris650 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #3
    What the highest resolution format (contains as much info as ISO) that I should choose?
     
  4. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
  5. cmvsm macrumors 6502a

    cmvsm

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #5
    You can also use the High Profile setting in Handbrake. I think that this setting elicits the best quality, however, you may want to turn off 'Detelecine' in the Filters section, as in some movies, it causes a frame rate issue.

    When all else fails, use the Universal or Apple TV setting and you will be good to go.
     
  6. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    I would do one or two before doing any batch process. The only reason I say that is because it takes a really long time to do one and it would suck if something wasn't set right. My first time using handbrake I had no sound and it took over 8 hours for one movie :/
     

Share This Page