Help. Ordering 2 iPhones

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pound4pound30, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. pound4pound30 macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #1
    I am pre-ordering 2 iPhone 4 16gb on the 15th.

    Its not my account its under my moms name because I dont have credit but I pay the bill. What do you need when you get on Apple's website to pre-order it for home delivery?

    Social Security Number?
    Account Number?


    Also is it easier through ATT or Apple? Or is it the same thing?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
  3. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    To pre-order, you'll type in number which you want to upgrade, then you select delivery vs in-store pickup and put in your CC information.

    Done...
     
  4. elephunkman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    For Apple, I don't believe you need the CC info.
     
  5. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
  6. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    I read the OP posts as ordering the iphone for home delivery. For home delivery, the OP sure does need a CC.

    If I read the post wrong and it's in-store pickup, my apologies, and elephunkman is correct.
     
  7. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #7
    For home delivery, I would believe they need credit card information for payment or else you will be getting a free phone. :rolleyes:

    EDIT: Sorry Revelation78, we posted around the same time!! However, I read the post the same way you did.
     
  8. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    what about upgrading an existing line and adding a line for a total of 2 iphones for in store pickup? can you do most of this online first so im in and out of the apple store?
     
  9. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #9
    I am not sure about your question per say, but I would make sure that you would be able to walk out with that many iPhone's. When I purchased the original and 3G, it was only one per person.
     
  10. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    Yes you should be just fine.

    There usually is a limit, but I don't think it's one, I thought it was two last year. I could be mistaken though.
     
  11. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #11
    Thank you for the update. It could be two, but I was not sure since the last iPhone I got was the 3G. I was just saying that he/she should find that out before reserving them and not being able to get all of them, and possibly experiencing shortages.
     
  12. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    Wise words...

    We should also see an article from AT&T on Monday, at the latest, giving more details on this topic.
     
  13. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #13
    All I need is the phone number? not account number social security number or anything?
     
  14. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #14
    If I remember correctly from last year, you'll need the log in info. Social and stuff I don't remember having to type in.
     
  15. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #15
    I believe that the Apple website requires the phone number, billing zip code, and the last four digits of the account holder's social security number.
     
  16. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #16
    ok thanks. i guess it really doesnt matter and i will just find out the 15th. 2 iphone 4's coming to my house. cant wait
     
  17. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #17
    This is my question. The day the 4 comes out the account holder won't be available and this was a prob at the 3g launch. The 3gs I had the account holder.

    Is there a way to let another person on the plan get the phone at the apple store?
     
  18. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #18
    The official Apple response is no, the Account holder needs to be present in-store. However, the policy enforcement varies by Apple retail location.

    Dave
     
  19. pound4pound30 thread starter macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #19
    i have heard apple gives problems to people who are not the account owner. if your an authorized user go to the att store and do it there or just have it shipped to your house. save all the hassle
     
  20. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #20
    My suggestion is go in a day or two before, talk to a CSR and manager at an AT&T retail store. Bring the account holder in on this day; let them know it's ok you can come in and get a new iPhone. Get the business cards of the CSR and the manager.

    Done.
     
  21. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #21
    Im in the same boat. The adding a line part is the only issue I see with apple. We might have to go to an AT&T store for the additional line. My plan is to get the upgrade from apple and then add a line from AT&T.
     
  22. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #22
    Well the girlfriend is not going to be happy if I have to make her wait for hers haha. But I don't plan on doing it on launch anyway I want to wait for the phone to be jail broken.
     

Share This Page