[Help] Outfitting me & my office with new hardware...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by acidfast7, Nov 22, 2008.

1. acidfast7 macrumors 65816

acidfast7

I hate to post a "what to buy" as a first thread, but I have somewhat of a unique situation.

Budget: roughly $4000.

What I do: I'm a researcher and would like to have (a) new computer(s) for home, office, and travel. I would also like automatic backup (in office) and syncing (if I buy more than one machine). I usually do web browsing, email, and a lot of writing. I do some image analysis. And rarely, I do some really heavy computational stuff that's demanding on the hardware. So, basically an slightly heavy office user.

When to buy: The dollar is worth more Swedish crowns than usual (so it's actually cheaper, for once, to buy stuff over here than in the US) so I'd like to buy ASAP.

How long: I get money every year for computers, but I'd like to buy now and use for approximately 3 years. I can upgrade software and hardware if necessary over that course, but I wouldn't like to make any other hardware purchases. Currently, I use a HP laptop with a 2.0GHz Pentium M.

My original plan:

Original plan was to buy a MacBookAir with the SSD (so that I can travel and work on planes and buses quite easily), a 24" cinema display, and a 1TB Time Capsule. However, I looked at the MacBookAir today and it didn't have a hole for a lock, like on my current laptop? And the iMac with a 20" display doesn't look that much more expensive than a 24" Cinema display.

So, now I'm leaning toward:

The nicer MacBook (lighted keyboard) for home/travel, the better 20" iMac for the office (I thought about the 24", but I share an office with 5 others ... lol academic appointments), and a 1TB Time Capsule for backing-up of the machines.

The questions ...

1. Is this what you'd do? If so, what are the advantages. If not, what am I missing?