Help. Parallels can't see Win8 boot camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Aecasorg, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. Aecasorg, Oct 8, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2013

    Aecasorg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an issue where I needed to resize the Win8 partition so I could increase my OS X partition. I thought this would be a simple matter. Not so. Playing around and getting nowhere I decided to reset the sizes as they were, but now I can't access my Win8 boot camp with Parallels 8 from OS X. Is says "Unable to connect Hard Disk 1." However, I can boot on to my Win8 no problem.

    I did some searches and there was the suggestion booting from a CD with rEFit and using gptsync to sync the MBR and the GPT. I did this but I can't get the gptsync to find the drives/devices. (I wrote "gptsync /dev/disk0") Am I doing something wrong?

    I am using a MacBook 15 retina (Early 2013) with a 512Gb SSD. 300Gb for OS X and 200Gb for Win8.

    I am a bit stuck as what to do to get Parallels working again. I've googled loads but not found a good solution. Please don't tell me to reinstall Win8 or OS X or something similar as I don't have backups. (I know it is the wise thing to do, but budget restraints...)

    Would it help reinstalling Parallels?

    Also, if anyone knew of an easy (and preferably free) way of resizing the partitions I would also be happy. I thought it would be easy in what is normally a very user friendly OS X but it doesn't do it. (I am still learning about my Macbook Pro, however it is easily the best laptop I've ever owned)

    Any help in this matter would be most appreciative.

    Kind regards,

    Aeca :)
     
  2. Aecasorg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #2
    Anyone?

    Anyone that can help me with this? Please.
     
  3. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    If you installed Windows to a BootCamp partition you cannot just resize it. I know it's ridiculous but that's the way Apple does it.
    You can resize the Windows partition with Camptune (paid for) but I tried it and it made a mess of everything.

    If you have data on the Windows partition that you need to copy you may be able to do that with something like an Ubuntu Live CD/USB.

    If Windows is a BootCamp partition I fear it's fried and will need to be done again (as far as booting is concerned).
     
  4. Aecasorg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #4
    Well, the boot camp itself works fine. I can boot into Window 8 just fine. It is just I can't get Parallels Desktop to set up a VM on the Boot Camp. It throws an error. (Error: PRL_ERR_DISK_GPT_MBR_NOT_EQUAL (0x80021065)) I tried to use the gptsync by booting from a CD with rEFit however it doesn't seem to see the GPT and the MBT. Go figure.

    About the resizing I was worried about using Camptune as I've read several users complaining it messed things up.
     
  5. Seadoodude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    #5
    I just had the same problem. I made a backup of both partitions just in case, but Camptunes worked fine. Both OSX and Windows 7 will boot up and everything appears to work. Except when trying to use Parallels to boot the bootcamp partition I get an error about the bootcamp partition not standard. However, I just read on the Parallels Forem that all you have to do is make a new VM setup for the newly resized bootcamp partition.

    Here is the official answer on the Camptune Forum:

    http://kb_wp.paragon-software.com/article/135
     

Share This Page