Help! Part of my Desktop is not working

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dawsonscholz, Feb 14, 2011.

1. dawsonscholz macrumors newbie

So i have no idea what is going on but my desktop is being really weird. A few days ago i noticed all my icons were arranged on the top left corner of my screen. I tried to move them around but they just snap back in place. I took the grid thing off and they still do. I noticed that a lot of my icons are stacked on top of each other so i tried to move them to different areas. They wont go. I started playing around and found out that I cant right click anywhere out side of the box that my icons are in. It almost seems like part of my desktop screen isnt working which explains why my icons wont go anywhere. I can move my icons in the little space that they are in but once outside that area they just snap back into place. It almost seems like there is a boundry preventing anything to work outside of where my icons are. This is really hard to explain so I am having trouble writing this, but basically it seems like my desktop only works on the top left part of my screen....everything else on my computer seems to work fine. Anyone else having this problem?

2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

Ya know, that's the only question you asked. So, no, I'm not.

3. smirk macrumors 6502a

smirk

That is really strange. You've turned off the "arrange by" icon feature and they all still snap up to the top left? And you can't right click anywhere else on the screen? That is totally bizarre.

Does this only happen on the desktop or every folder?

Does it happen for all users on the system or just yours (or do you only have one account)?

4. dawsonscholz thread starter macrumors newbie