Help picking ram for iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jmbot, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. jmbot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys, I am very new to this whole adding ram thing, I really don't want to mess anything up so could somebody help me? I currently have a (current model) 27"iMac with 4GB of ram. Would everything work alright if I added this 2x4GB ram?

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333DDR3S08S/

    I know this is probably a really dumb question, but I just don't want to mess anything up.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Texran macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Fester1952 macrumors member

    Fester1952

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    I have 32gb OWC ram in my 27" iMac with no issues
     
  4. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    I always go to www.crucial.com and let it run the system scanner. 0% chance of screwing up.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Agreed. The same item at Crucial is $8 less than OWC and has free shipping. No reason to pay a premium for OWC.
     

Share This Page